Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Ma’afu, McCalman & Godwin return for the Force

Salesi Ma'afu has recovered from a knee injury

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 26 April 2013

The Western Force have named their team to face the Brumbies in Canberra with Prop Salesi Ma'afu, back-rower Ben McCalman and inside centre Kyle Godwin all returning to the starting line up.

Ma'afu (knee) and McCalman (head knock) have been named after being sidelined for last weekend's fixture against the Hurricanes through injury, while Godwin returns following a planned rest having started in the Force's opening nine matches of the season.

Ma'afu, who played 52 matches for the Brumbies between 2007 and 2011, will pack down in the Western Australian front row alongside fellow Wallaby prop Pek Cowan and hooker Heath Tessmann, while McCalman will renew his back row trinity with captain Matt Hodgson and bruising No.8 Richard Brown.

Godwin will team up in the midfield with former Australian Sevens representative, Junior Rasolea, with the pair having last started alongside each other in the Force's win over the Crusaders a fortnight ago.

The inclusion of centre Winston Stanley is the only change to the Western Force bench. Stanley replaces winger Alfie Mafi, who was not considered for selection following a breach of team standards.

Western Force Head Coach Michael Foley says his side is excited about the challenge that awaits them on Saturday night.

"We're a side that has shown considerable character throughout the season and the last three weeks of preparation have shown the players' desire to keep finding small improvements in the standards they've set themselves," he said. "These are important steps in becoming the team we want to become.

"We have great respect for the Brumbies and we recognise the challenge of playing the leading side in the competition."

Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Heath Tessmann,3. Salesi Ma'afu,4. Toby Lynn ,5. Sam Wykes,6. Ben McCalman,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Richard Brown,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Sam Norton-Knight,11. Ed Stubbs,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Junior Rasolea ,14. Patrick Dellit ,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements : 16. James Hilterbrand,17. Kieran Longbottom,18. Rory Walton,19. Chris Alcock,20. Mick Snowden,21. Sias Ebersohn,22. Winston Stanley

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news