Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Chiefs beat the Western Force in Pukekohe

Super Rugby Live Scoring !

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 10 May 2013

The Chiefs and the Western Force have played each other six times since the Force joined Super Rugby back in 2006 and the Chiefs have won five times.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. Gareth Anscombe has had to withdraw so Aaron Cruden comes into the starting line up.
The Force kick off and we are underway.
1.00: The Chiefs get an early penalty so Cruden kicks for touch. He misses so the Force run the ball back.
2.00: The Force get the ball in broken play, Pat Dellit gets his boot on the ball and chips through. Dellit chases the ball, gathers it and scores. TRY! The TMO checks and the try is awarded.  
3.00:Jayden Hayward misses the conversion.
6.00: The Chiefs start to get more into the game and attack in the Force's 22 and they win a penalty for going over the top. Cruden takes the penalty kick and nails it.
10.00: The Force win a scrum but as they try to move the ball down the backs Sias Ebersohn passes forward and the momentum is lost.
14.00: The Chiefs slowly but surely make ground into Force territory and then about 10m out Lelia Masaga gets the ball and goes for the line. TRY! Special mention for handling skills by Brodie Retallick.
15.00:Aaron Cruden takes the conversion from the sideline and he nails it.
17.00: The Chiefs are playing with some real intensity now. Kerr-Barlow is having a good game. The Chiefs win a penalty just outside the Force's 22. Cruden will kick.
18.00: Cruden nails the penalty.
24.00: The Chiefs look to attack after a scrum but Lelia Masaga makes a rare error by dropping the ball.
24.00:The Force win the scrum and Cruden makes a solid tackle winning a penalty for the Chiefs (not supporting your weight). Cruden kicks for touch.  
25.00: Another penalty for the Chiefs. Cruden takes the kick and nails it.
30.00: Penalty to the Western Force. Jayden Hayward takes the shot and nails it.  
32.00: The Referee's assistant comes in from the sideline to report that .Ben Afeaki took a Force player out without the ball so the Force get a penalty back in Chiefs territory.
34.00: The Force are on the attack in the Chiefs 22. They work the ball to in front of the posts and Sam Cane gets trapped and concedes a penalty as Bundee Aki uses his hands in the ruck. Hayward slots the penalty.
36.00: The Chiefs look to strike back and they get the ball into the Force's 22. Bundee Aki almost gets through and gets the ball to Cruden but the ball goes to ground. We do however go back for a penalty.
37.00: Cruden takes the penalty shot and nails it.
39.00: The Chiefs have the ball and are moving forward inside the Force's half. Aki almost gets through again but the ball goes to ground but not forward. The Chiefs continue to attack.
40.00: The siren goes and Brett Sheehan kicks the ball into touch. It's half time.
The half time score was Chiefs 19 Force 11
The Chiefs kick off and we are underway with the second half.
42.00: The Chiefs win a scrum penalty just inside the Force's half for collapsing the scrum. Cruden will kick for posts.
43.00: Cruden takes the shot and nails it. That's six from six.
45.00: The Force win a penalty inside their half. Ebersohn kicks for touch.
48.00: The Force enjoy some excellent attacking territory 5m out from the Chiefs line. The Chiefs however win a penalty (not releasing) so they kick for touch.
50.00: The Force look to attack but decide to use the boot and kick upfield. The ball however goes straight out so the Chiefs have a line out.
52.00: The Chiefs win the line out and get the almost ball to 22m line. The Force's defence is strong and they turn the ball over and attack.   
54.00: The Chiefs turn the ball over from the Force and after some to and fro the Force win a penalty and kick for touch. Alby Mathewson and Richard Brown come on for the Force.
56.00: The Force win a penalty so Jayden Hayward will kick for posts. He nails it.
59.00: The Force win another penalty. They kick for touch. Nick Cummins makes a break and he is caught but the Force keep the momentum alive and after a couple of phases Dellit goes over again in the corner. TRY!
60.00: Jayden Hayward takes the conversion from almost the touchline and he nails it. It's a one point game.
62.00: The Chiefs get some good attacking ball in the Force 22, they look to be open in the corner as Asaeli Tikoirotuma races for the line but he is caught and his pass to Masaga is lost forward.
68.00: The Chiefs have been camped in the Force's 22 for almost five minutes. They are battling to complete a scrum.
69.00: The Chiefs have another scrum 5 out and again it collapses. They move the scrum closer to the posts as the field is tearing up.
71.00: The ref has had enough of the scrums collapsing as Kieran Longbottom is shown a yellow card. The scrum is moved closer to the posts again.
72.00: The Chiefs win the scrum this time and Liam Messam bashes over. We go to the TMO to check. No try. The Force are awarded a penalty and Mathewson boots the ball downfield.
74.00: The Chiefs get the ball back from Mathewson's kick and they attack again inside the Force's half.
76.00: The Force's defence has been outstanding. They continue to hold the Chiefs out.
77.00: Penalty to the Force inside their half. They will kick for posts. Ebersohn is well short.
78.00: The Force have a line out but it's not straight. The Chiefs choose a scrum to waste time. They win the scrum and Cruden kicks way downfield.
79.00: The Force have the ball but kick it away giving the Chiefs line out. The siren sounds so they kick it out. That's it. The Chiefs win.
The full time score is Chiefs 22 (19) Force 21 (11)


Tries - L. Masaga
Pen - A.Cruden 5
Con - A.Cruden
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - P.Dellit 2
Pen - J.Hayward 3
Con - J.Hayward
Drop -
Cards - K. Longbottom (71st min yellow.)

Match Officials
Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri
TMO : Vinny Munro



1.Toby Smith , 2.Hika Elliot , 3.Ben Afeaki , 4.Craig Clarke (c) , 5.Brodie Retallick , 6.Liam Messam , 7.Sam Cane , 8.Matt Vant Leven , 9.Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10.Aaron Cruden , 11.Patrick Osborne , 12.Bundee Aki , 13.Save Tokula , 14.Lelia Masaga , 15.Robbie Robinson

Replacements : 16.Mahonri Schwalger , 17.Ben Tameifuna , 18.Michael Fitzgerald , 19.Tanerau Latimer , 20.Augustine Pulu , 21.Charlie Ngatai, 22.Asaeli Tikoirotuma

Western Force

1. Pek Cowan ,2. Heath Tessmann,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Toby Lynn ,5. Sam Wykes,6. Matt Hodgson (c),7. Chris Alcock,8. Ben McCalman ,9. Brett Sheehan,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Nick Cummins,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Ben Jacobs ,14. Patrick Dellit ,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements : 16. James Hilterbrand,17. Tetera Faulkner,18. Rory Walton,19. Richard Brown ,20. Alby Mathewson ,21. Junior Rasolea,22. Sam Norton-Knight

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news