Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Chiefs beat Hurricanes in Wellington

Super Rugby Live Scoring !

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 17 May 2013

The last time the Hurricanes and Chiefs met was last year in July in Wellington and the Hurricanes edged the Chiefs 28-25.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
Aaron Cruden kicks off and we are underway. The weather is wet so expect plenty of dropped balls.
1.00: The Hurricanes win a line out and try to run the ball but the referee gets in the way and they are brought back for a scrum.
2.00: Asaeli Tikoirotuma is blown up for a tackle without arms so the Hurricanes have a penalty. TJ Perenara just smashed Robbie Robinson in tackle.
3.00: Beauden Barrett takes the penalty kick and nails it. The Hurricanes lead.
5.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. Cruden takes the penalty kick and nails it to level the scores.
7.00: Robbie Robinson makes a break and makes plenty of ground for the Chiefs but he is caught and Tikoirotuma chips ahead and the Canes get the ball and make it safe.
11.00: Penalty to the Chiefs from an infringement at the breakdown. Cruden takes the kick and slots it. The Chiefs lead.
15.00: Beauden Barrett gets his boot to a loose ball in the middle of the field, he chases and the Hurricanes support comes. The Hurricanes get the ball to the 22m line and it stops. The Chiefs then concede a penalty. Barrett will kick for posts.
16.00: Barrett takes the kick - it's low but good. The scores are level.
19.00: Penalty to the Chiefs. Cruden will kick. He nails it and the Chiefs lead again.
22.00: The Chiefs win a line out but Masaga knocks on so we have a scrum on the halfway line.
25.00: The Hurricanes work the ball into the Chiefs 22. They go through the phases but the Chiefs push them back. Perenara uses the chip kick but the Chiefs catch it and take the mark. They kick down field.
26.00: The Chiefs continue to make ground but the Hurricanes turn the ball over and Barrett kicks ahead but its charged down by Matt Vant Leven who comes very close to scoring in the corner but puts a foot in touch.
29.00: Brodie Retallick concedes a penalty for cleaning out so the Hurricanes have a penalty. Barrett kicks for touch.
30.00: The Hurricanes are 10m out from the Chiefs tryline. The Hurricanes chip ahead to the corner and it goes out. However Messam shoves TJ Perenara so the Hurricanes get a penalty after a TMO review.
31.00: Barrett takes the penalty kick and slots it to level the scores again.
35.00: The Chiefs look likely to score after getting a break through and Kerr Barlow is just held. However the Chiefs are awarded a penalty so Cruden takes a shot at the posts. He nails it.
37.00: The Hurricanes kick upfield, Kerr Barlow goes to catch the ball and as he does Julian Savea flattens him and he knocks on.  
39.00: The Hurricanes have the ball in the Chiefs half.
40.00: The siren sounds and the Chiefs are awarded a penalty just inside their half. This will have to be a massive kick - almost 59m.
41.0: Cruden takes the kick but misses. His first miss of the season !
The half time score was Hurricanes 9 Chiefs 12
The Hurricanes kick off and we are underway for the second half.
41.00: Both teams make a scrappy start to the match as both halfbacks make handling errors. The weather is still poor and there is a break in play for an injury.
42.00: The Chiefs win a scrum penalty so they kick well downfield.
44.00: Penalty inside their half for obstruction. They kick for touch and win the line out in the Chiefs 22 - however they knock on. Chiefs scrum.
47.00: It takes a while for the scrum to complete but when it does Kerr Barlow drops the ball under pressure from the Hurricanes. The Canes get a scrum in the Chiefs 22.
49.00: The Hurricanes are keeping the Chiefs pinned back in their half. There is a loose ball at the back of ruck but the Chiefs get to it and kick down field.
50.00: The Hurricanes get the ball after a line out and attack in the Chiefs 22. The ball is lost and then both teams give the ball some air but Robbie Robinson takes a mark. Scrappy second half this is.
54.00: TJ Perenara tries to clear the ball after a line out. Retallick gets a hand to the ball and the Chiefs get the ball to Tanerau Latimer who dashes through to score the first TRY of the match.
55.00: Cruden misses the conversion.
59.00:Penalty to the Chiefs. Cruden takes the kick and misses. That's his third miss of the match.
63.00: There is a break in play as Jeffery Toomaga-Allen goes down injured twisting his knee and ankle and has to be helped from the field.
65.00: The Hurricanes are starting to attack more but the Chiefs defence remains strong.
66.00: TJ Perenara comes off and Chris Smylie comes on for the Chiefs.
69.00: The Hurricanes have really upped the pressure. Reynold Lee-Lo makes a break but the Chiefs hang on.
69.00: The Hurricanes win a scrum and Smylie fires off the back and goes for the line. He is stopped short and the Chiefs defend. Ben Tameifuna is however shown a yellow card. The Hurricanes will kick for posts.
70.00: Barrett takes the kick and slots it.
73.00: Craig Clarke comes off for the Chiefs. The Chiefs have the ball but they are blown up for crossing.
74.00: The Hurricanes (Jack Lam) concede a penalty in the Chiefs half so Cruden kicks down field.
76.00: The Hurricanes are pressing hard in the Chiefs half but they get pushed wide and into touch.
79.00: The Hurricanes are still attacking but they are just inside the Chiefs half. They knock on.
80.00: Penalty to the Chiefs as the siren sounds. They kick it out and win it.
The full time score is Hurricanes 12 (9) Chiefs 17 (12)


Tries -
Pen - B.Barrett 4
Con -
Drop -
Cards - B.Tameifuna (70th min yellow)

Tries - T.Latimer
Pen - A.Cruden 4
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Lourens van der Merwe
Assistant Ref 1:Garratt Williamson
Assistant Ref 2:Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri
TMO : Glenn Newman



1. Ben Franks, 2. Ash Dixon, 3. Ben May, 4. Jeremy Thrush, 5. Jason Eaton, 6. Faifili Levave, 7. Jack Lam , 8. Victor Vito (c), 9. TJ Perenara, 10. Beauden Barrett, 11. Julian Savea, 12. Tim Bateman,13. Reynold Lee-Lo, 14. Alapati Leiua , 15. Andre Taylor

Replacements :16. Reggie Goodes,17. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen,18. James Broadhurst, 19. Brad Shields, 20. Chris Smylie, 21. Tusi Pisi, 22. James Marshall


1.Pauliasi Manu, 2.Hika Elliot, 3.Ben Afeaki, 4.Craig Clarke (c) 5.Brodie Retallick, 6.Liam Messam , 7.Tanerau Latimer, 8.Matt Vant Leven, 9.Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 10.Aaron Cruden, 11.Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 12.Bundee Aki, 13.Charlie Ngatai, 14.Lelia Masaga, 15.Robbie Robinson

Replacements : 16.Mahonri Schwalger, 17.Ben Tameifuna, 18.Michael Fitzgerald, 19.Nick Crosswell, 20.Augustine Pulu, 21.Dan Waenga, 22.Save Tokula

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news