Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Pietersen kicks Stormers to victory over Kings

Joe Pietersen kicked four penalties and a conversion

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 1 June 2013

Joe Pietersen kicked 14 points to help the Stormers to a 19-11 Super Rugby victory over the Southern Kings at a wet Newlands Stadium in Cape Town.

Both teams scored one try each and the difference came down to penalty kicks with Pietersen kicking four to George Whitehead's two.  

The result mathematically keeps the Stormers in the hunt for the play offs and they are level on 38 points with the Sharks who have a better points differential.

The Southern Kings took no points in the standings from the match and they now trail the fourth placed team in the South African Conference the Stormers by 14 points which means that they will almost certainly finish as the last placed SA team.

Weather was a big factor in the match as it started raining fiercely just before kick-off and the field was reduced to a slippery watery surface by the time the players emerged from the tunnel.

The Stormers showed their hand at the start when they pinned the Kings down in their own half in the opening 10 minutes.

The Stormers' pressure caused the Kings to fall foul on four occasions during that time, and fullback Joe Pietersen converted two of these penalties for an early 6-0 lead.

Towards the 20 minute mark the Kings managed to wrest some initiative and flyhalf George Whitehead reduced the deficit through a penalty.

Both sides were trying to play territorial rugby and every now and again, there were sustained tactical kicking duels.

The Kings, who lost flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis before kickoff, restricted the home side to a slender 6-3 lead by the time the teams changed ends.

The Stormers returned with a greater sense of urgency and again they threatened to crack the opposition but poor decision taking and occasional knock-ons put paid to their efforts.

The only reward was a close-range penalty which Pietersen steered through the posts to open up a six-point margin.

On the hour Newlands had another cloudburst, but thankfully the drainage managed to cope with the heavy rains.

Pietersen and Whitehead each managed a penalty in quick succession and the scoreboard moved to 12-6 with 15 minutes remaining.

A 65th minute driving maul from a line-out seven metres out proved the platform for the Stormers' only try, scored by flanker Deon Fourie.

Pietersen nailed a splend conversion from touch for a 19-6 lead.

In the closing stages, Kings flanker Wimpie van der Walt squeezed over for an unconverted try via a driving maul, but Whitehead missed the conversion to make the score 19-11 in favour of the home side.

The Kings came close to a consolation try in the dying moments before the hooter sounded to bring an end to the game.

Final Score Stormers 19 (6) Kings 11 (3) 


Tries - D.Fourie
Pen - J. Pietersen 4
Con - J.Pietersen
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - W. van der Walt
Pen - G.Whitehead 2
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Jonathan Kaplan
Assistant Ref 2:Linston Manuels
TMO : Deon van Blommestein



15. Joe Pietersen , 14. Gio Aplon , 13. Jean de Villiers (captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Bryan Habana , 10. Elton Jantjies , 9. Louis Schreuder , 8. Nizaam Carr , 7. Deon Fourie , 6. Siya Kolisi , 5. De Kock Steenkamp , 4. Eben Etzebeth , 3. Brok Harris , 2. Tiaan Liebenberg , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements : 16. Martin Bezuidenhout , 17. Chris Heiberg ( Stormers and Super Rugby debut) , 18. Gerbrandt Grobler , 19. Don Armand , 20. Dewaldt Duvenage , 21. Gary van Aswegen , 22. Gerhard van den Heever

Southern Kings

15. SP Marais , 14. Siviwe Soyizwapi ,, 13. Ronnie Cooke , 12. Andries Strauss (Captain), 11. Marcello Sampson , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nicolas Vergallo , 8. Jacques Engelbrecht , 7. Wimpie van der Walt, 6. Cornell du Preez, 5. David Bulbring , 4. Darron Nell (Vice Captain) , 3. Kevin Buys , 2. Bandise Maku , 1. Schalk Ferreira

Replacements : 16. Hannes Franklin , 17. Grant Kemp , 18. Rynier Bernado , 19. Devin Oosthuizen , 20. Shaun Venter , 21. Shane Gates , 22. George Whitehead.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news