Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Crusaders name team for Hurricanes warm up

Tom Taylor will run the Crusaders back line

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 20 June 2013|

The Crusaders have named a 26-man team to play the Hurricanes in a non-competition friendly Super Rugby warm up in Levin on Friday.

The Crusaders forward pack see's a number of the wider training group make the starting fifteen while in the backs has a familiar look to it.

Three club rugby players who have showed form this season have had the call up as injury cover and make it onto the bench.

They are Matt Holloway and Matt Symons from High School Old Boys and Marcel Cumming-Toone from New Brighton.

Crusaders Head Coach Todd Blackadder says that he was pleased to be given the oppportunity to be playing the Hurricanes during the June test window.

"It is really important to keep our focus and momentum during this three week break. Playing the Hurricanes will allow us to keep on top of our game and be fully prepared for the final three rounds of Super Rugby games," said Blackadder.

The Crusaders have met the Hurricanes twice this season. Early in the year in Timaru the two played a pre-season match, where the Canes came out on top by one point. That winning margin was repeated in Wellington on the 8th March in their first competition encounter.

Looking ahead, the Crusaders will host their second derby match in Christchurch during the final round of the competition on Friday 12th July.

This non-competition match will provide both teams' game time before heading back into the 2013 Super Rugby season next week.

The Crusaders are currently sitting sixth on the table and have three round robin matches left to play.

All three games are against New Zealand conference counterparts, kicking off with the Southern Derby in Dunedin against the Highlanders on 29th June.

The game will take place at the Levin Domain on Friday 21st June with kick-off at 6.45pm.


1. Joe Moody, 2. Ben Funnell ,3. Nepo Laulala ,4. Jimmy Tupou ,5. Tom Donnelly ,6. George Whitelock (c) ,7. Shane Christie ,8. Luke Whitelock ,9. Willi Heinz ,10. Tom Taylor ,11. Zac Guildford ,12. Ryan Crotty ,13. Robbie Fruean ,14. Adam Whitelock ,15. Tom Marshall

Replacements : 16. Matt Holloway 17. Marcel Cumming-Toone 18. Adrian Barone 19. Jordan Taufua 20. Andy Ellis 21. Tyler Bleyendaal 22. Telusa Veianu 23. Kieron Fonotia 25.Joel Everson 26. Matt Symons

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news