Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks beat Blues in Durban

Live Super Rugby Scoring !

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 29 June 2013

The Sharks can keep their hopes of reaching the Super Rugby play offs mathematically alive by beating the Blues this weekend but they will also be playing for a proud record.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
Patrick Lambie kicks off and we are underway.
2.00: The Sharks win the first penalty of the match as the Blues come in from the side. Lambie takes the kick and sends it well wide.
5.00: The Sharks are dominating early possession but the Blues are defending well. The Blues turn the ball over and attack but the final pass is forward.
9.00: The Sharks work the ball to the Sharks tryline and drive over. There are bodies everywhere so we go to the TMO. It was grounded short. 5m scrum.
11.00: After spending 10 minutes in their own half the Blues get the ball into the Sharks half. They go on the attack but lose the ball forward.
13.00: The Sharks win a penalty from the scrum in their 22. Lambie kicks for touch.
17.00: The Sharks have the ball on the half way line. McLeod chips through and Lambie chases but the Blues get back.
20.00: The Sharks are still on the attack. The match has been almost entirely the Sharks going forward or Jaco Peyper against the Blues.
21.00: As the Sharks continue to attack and can't find a hole, Butch James grubbers the ball through but the Blues get back and take it out.
22.00: The Sharks then win the line out and get the maul rolling and they drive Marcell Coetzee over for the TRY!
24.00: Pat Lambie takes the conversion kick and this time he nails it.
27.00: Jaco Peyper awards the Sharks another penalty for obstruction so Lambie kicks for the corner.
28.00: The Sharks win the line out and they drive over the line again and Charl MacLeod is driven over the line for the second TRY!
29.00: Lambie takes the conversion kick and slots it.
32.00: The Blues get some rare possession and territory and Frank Halai swats off Patrick Lambies and runs in the Blues first TRY in the corner.
33.00: Chris Noakes misses the conversion.
34.00: Charl MacLeod goes on a run and dodges about five tackles but is eventually brought down in front of the posts. Frank Halai gets some attention which holds the game up.
37.00: Penalty to the Sharks from a scrum. Lambie takes the kick but misses again.
38.00: Peter Saili is down and getting some help from the medics. Ha carries on.
39.00: Penalty for the Sharks. Lambie takes the kick and slots this one.
40.00: It's half time.
The half time score was Sharks 17 Blues 5
The Blues kick off and we are underway.
41.00: The Blues get the perfect start by chipping through (Weepu) and Charles Piutau chases. He is caught but the Blues swing the ball to the other side and Frank Halai goes over in the corner. TRY!
43.00: Noakes misses the conversion.
45.00: The Blues are getting a lot more ball and territory this half. Rene Ranger is also on (for George Moala) the field making an impact.
46.00: The Blues are going through the phases. Anthony Boric almost gets through but is just caught. The Blues recycle and get to the 5m line after 13 phases.
48.00: After a patient build up Rene Ranger slips through and scores behind the posts. TRY! In the build up Piri Weepu went down.
49.00: Noakes adds the conversion and the scores are level.
51.00: Edwin Hewitt comes off for blood and is replaced by Jandre Marais.
53.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Lambie takes the kick but misses.
55.00: Bismarck du Plessis comes on for Kyle Cooper.
58.00: Ofa Tu'ungafasi comes on for Tim Perry. The game is being played more in the middle of the field and is a lot more even than the first half which the Sharks dominated.
59.00: Penalty to the Blues. Baden Kerr will kick for posts. He nails it and the Blues lead for the first time.
64.00: Willem Alberts comes off and is replaced by Jean Deysel. The Sharks have the ball on attack but the kick up and the Blues take the mark.
66.00.: The Sharks are building and getting stronger. They win a penalty for going off the feet. Lambie will kick for posts.  He misses.
70.00: Jean Deysel loses his shirt in a tackle by Rene Ranger but the game carries on. He is heavily involved in several recycles. Eventually they get him a shirt and he is now playing as number 24.
74.00: Penalty to the Sharks. It's kickable but Bismarck du Plessis says they will go for the line out.
75.00: The Sharks win the line out but lose the ball and the Blues get the put in for a 5m scrum.
76.00: The Blues win the scrum but they put themselves under pressure by trying to run the ball out. Eventually they kick the ball out.
78.00: The Sharks have the ball on attack in the Blues 22. It's full on attack but the Blues defence sucks it all up.
79.00: The Sharks leave it late and with 20 seconds left on the clock Riaan Viljoen scores in the corner.
80.00: Pat Lambie takes the conversion and misses. It's full time.
The full time score is Sharks 22 (17) Blues 20 (5)


Tries - M.Coetzee, C.MacLeod, R.Viljoen
Pen - P.Lambie
Con - P.Lambie 2
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - F.Halai 2, R.Ranger
Pen - B.Kerr
Con - C.Noakes
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Marius Jonker
Assistant Ref 2:Reuben Roussow
TMO : Willie Roos



15. Riaan Viljoen , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Louis Ludik , 12. Butch James , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Pat Lambie , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Keegan Daniel (C) , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Franco van der Merwe , 4. Edwin Hewitt , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements : 16. Bismarck du Plessis , 17. Danie Mienie/Wiehahn Herbst , 18. Jandre Marais , 19. Jean Deysel , 20. Jacques Botes , 21. Cobus Reinach , 22. Jaco van Tonder.


15. Charles Piutau,14. Frank Halai,13. Jackson Willison,12. Francis Saili,11. George Moala,10. Chris Noakes,9. Piri Weepu,8. Peter Saili,7. Luke Braid,6. Steven Luatua,5. Ali Williams (C),4. Anthony Boric,3. Angus Ta'avao,2. James Parsons,1. Tim Perry

Replacements : 16. Keven Mealamu,17. Ofa Tu'ungafasi,18. Kane Barrett / Culum Retallick,19. Brendon O'Connor,20. Jamison Gibson-Park,21. Baden Kerr,22. Rene Ranger.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news