Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

McCalman starts in Force team to play Brumbies

Ben McCalman is named in the Force's starting line up

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 12 July 2013|


The Western Force have named their team to play the Brumbies in Perth with Wallaby Ben McCalman named in the starting line up.

Ben McCalman, who came off the bench in the most recent Test in Sydney, joins captain Matt Hodgson and Chris Alcock in the back row and Hugh McMeniman will return to the second row after taking on the blindside duties in the Force's last outing.

Nick Cummins will start on the right wing in his first appearance since the Week 14 clash with the Sharks.

James Hilterbrand will run out in the starting XV for the first time, replacing Heath Tessmann, while Junior Rasolea moves to inside centre to cover Kyle Godwin, who has undergone shoulder surgery.

Western Force Head Coach Michael Foley says his side is determined to finish their 2013 campaign on a positive note.

"Saturday night represents an exciting challenge, which we've worked hard for over the last three-and-a-half weeks," he said.

"As a team, we've built a solid foundation based on character. Playing for each other and our people at home means a lot to us and we're determined to demonstrate that in our last match of the season.

"We have a great deal of respect for the Brumbies and recognise that playing with an aggressive mindset for 80 minutes is imperative against the Australian Conference leaders."

Western Force

1. Pek Cowan, 2. James Hilterbrand, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 4. Sam Wykes, 5. Hugh McMeniman, 6. Matt Hodgson (c), 7.Chris Alcock, 8. Ben McCalman, 9. Alby Mathewson, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 11. Nick Cummins, 12. Junior Rasolea, 13.Ben Jacobs, 14. Patrick Dellit, 15. Jayden Hayward.

Replacementss: 16. Ben Whittaker, 17. Salesi Ma'afu, 18. Toby Lynn, 19. Richard Brown, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Sam Norton-Knight, 22. Sam Christie.

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news