Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Argentina name squad for Autumn Internationals

Patricio Albacete is likely to captain Argetina

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Tuesday 29 October 2013|


Argentina rugby union coach Daniel Hourcade named his first squad since he replaced Santiago Phelan last week for next month's three-Test tour of Europe.

The 55-year-old, who stepped up to the job after years of coaching the junior Argentine sides when Phelan resigned last Monday, named a 31-man squad for the Tests with England, Wales and Italy.

The Pumas have lost eight of their nine Tests this year, although they put up some respectable performances in the Four Nations tournament with southern hemisphere heavyweights the All Blacks, Springboks and Australia.

Hourcade - who never coached at the top level in Europe though he was assistant coach to the Portugal side that played in the 2007 World Cup -did not nominate a captain to replace Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, who broke his elbow while playing for European champions Toulon last Saturday.

Toulouse forward Patricio Albacete is the most likely candidate to fill that role.

Among those called up by Hourcade are two players who recently signed contracts with Super 15 sides, prop Matias Diaz and lock Manuel Carizza. They joined New Zealand outfit Otago Highlanders and South African side Western Province respectively.

The Pumas - World Cup semi-finalists in 2007 and quarter-finalists in 2011 - begin their Test programme against England at Twickenham on November 9.

They then face Wales in Cardiff a week later and round off their tour against Italy in Rome on November 23.


Forwards: Patricio Albacete (Toulouse/FRA), Gabriel Ascarate (Glasgow Warriors/SCO), Marcos Ivan Ayerza (Leicester/ENG), Manuel Carizza (Western Province/RSA), Horacio Agulla (Bath/ENG), Agustin Creevy (Worcester/ENG), Matias Díaz (Otago Highlanders/NZL), Julio Alfredo Farias Cabello (Tucuman Racing Club), Mariano Galarza (Worcester/ENG), Eusebio Guinazu (Bath/ENG), Santiago Iglesias (Universitario de Tucuman), Juan Manuel Leguizamon (Lyon/FRA), Nahuel Lobo (no club), Benjamin Macome (Tucuman RC/ARG), Pablo Matera (Leicester/ENG), Juan Pablo Orlandi (Bath/ARG), Leonardo Senatore (Worcester/ENG)

Backs: Marcelo Bosch (Saracens/ENG), Maximiliano Bustos (Montpellier/FRA), Santiago Cordero (Regatas de Bella Vista), Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ahtletic), Santiago Fernandez (Bayonne/FRA), Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (Oyonnax/FRA), Juan Imhoff (Racing Metro/FRA), Juan Martin Hernandez (Racing Metro/FRA), Martin Landajo (CA San Isidro), Tomas Lavanini (Hindu Club), Javier Rojas (Universitario de Tucuman), Nicolas Sanchez (Bordeaux-Begles/FRA), Gonzalo Tiesi (no club), Joaquin Tuculet (Bordeaux-Begles/FRA)

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news