Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Cummins wins Australian players' player of the year

Nick 'The Honey Badger' Cummins has won Australian players' player of the year award

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 11 December 2013|

Western Force and Wallabies winger Nick Cummins has been named ahead of Israel Folau and Michael Hooper as Australian players' player of the year.

Twenty-six-year-old Cummins won the Medal of Excellence for his blistering form on the Wallabies' recent European tour, his perseverance after an injury-hampered Super Rugby season and his charity work.

The medal recognises not only on-field performances but also an individual's contribution to the community, the Australian Rugby Union said.

Openside flanker Hooper had been favoured to take the title after recently winning the prestigious John Eales Medal.

The other finalists Folau and fellow Wallabies playmaker Christian Lealiifano were upstaged by Cummins, who becomes the fourth consecutive winner from Western Force after David Pocock (2010) and Nathan Sharpe (2011 and 2012).

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news