Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Stormers edge out Bulls in Super Rugby warm up

The Stormers have beaten the Bulls in Polokwane

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 1 February 2014|

The Stormers beat the Bulls 19-26 in Super Rugby warm up at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane on Saturday.

The Stormers outscored the Bulls by four tries to three, with flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis (who scored one of their tries) converted three of the Stormers' tries.

Flanker Siya Kolisi scored two tries - both from mauls - either side of half-time, as the Stormers clawed their way back from a 5-12 deficit at the break to come away with the win in front of a rugby-mad Polokwane crowd.

Kolisi's second try, in the 44th minute, saw the scores draw level at 12-12, before the home side led by 19-12 going into the final quarter.

However, Catrakilis' try - from a powerful Stormers scrum - saw the visitors draw level yet again before new boy Scott van Breda (who came on as a replacement) scored in the corner with two minutes left on the clock.

Catrakilis converted from out wide to give his team a seven-point buffer as the clock wound down and it proved enough in the end for the Men from Cape Town.

The Stormers will travel to Port Elizabeth next Friday to take on the Kings, before wrapping up their pre-season preparations with matches against Boland in Wellington on Saturday, February 15.

Final Score Bulls 19 (12) Stormers 26 (5)


Tries: Greyling, Spies, Botha
Cons: Fouche 2

Tries: Kolisi 2, Catrakilis, Van Breda
Cons: Catrakilis 3



Jurgen Visser, Akona Ndungane, JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein, Bjorn Basson, Louis Fouche, Francois Hougaard, Pierre Spies (c), Arno Botha, Deon Stegmann, Grant Hattingh, Flip vd Merwe, Werner Kruger, Callie Visagie, Dean Greyling.

Replacements: Bandise Maku, Marcel vd Merwe, Hencus van Wyk, Jono Ross, Rudy Paige, Handre Pollard, Ulrich Beyers and Victor Matfield


15. Gio Aplon, 14. Kobus van Wyk, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean de Villiers (captain), 11. Damian de Allende, 10. Demetri Catrakilis, 9. Louis Schreuder, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain), 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Rynhardt Elstadt, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16. Tiaan Liebenberg, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Alistair Vermaak/Justin Ackerman, 19. Jean Kleyn, 20. Michael Rhodes, 21. Nizaam Carr, 22. Nic Groom, 23. Gary van Aswegen, 24. Scott van Breda, 25. Ryno Eksteen, 26. Deon Fourie

With thanks to the Stormers.

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news