Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Super Rugby drops four point rule for byes

Super Rugby teams will no longer be awarded four points for a bye

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 12 February 2014|

Super Rugby organisers SANZAR have announced that teams will no longer be awarded four points for a bye when they are not playing.

SANZAR media manager Alistair Hogg said on Twitter that they had listened to feedback from Super Rugby fans and dropped the rule.

"SANZAR can confirm that from the 2014 Super Rugby season, teams will no longer be awarded log points for their bye weeks," said Hogg on Twitter.

"We have listened to feedback and trust this makes it easier for fans to track their team's log progress throughout the SuperRugby season."

Historically teams were awarded four points for each of their two bye weekends but with a staggered start to the season the standings would have been very confusing for fans.

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news