Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Waratahs name team for Force Super Rugby opener

Bernard Foley will start at 10 and Kurtley Beale will start at 12

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Tuesday 18 February 2014|

The Waratahs have named their Super Rugby team to play the Western Force on Sunday with Bernard Foley starting in the number 10 jersey and Kurtley Beale starting at inside centre.

There has been much speculation over who head coach Michael Cheika would give the number 10 jersey to but this week Foley has beaten Foley in the race.

"They've both had some good touches in the trials and have enjoyed playing alongside each other," said Cheika of Foley and Beale.

"It may take a little longer for them to gel but I'll give them the time."

Foley gives the Waratahs the shape and direction that Cheika is looking for and while Beale will also be playing to instructions, he provides the X-factor.

Israel Folau was in a world of his own in the number 15 jersey last season and with a season of rugby under his belt he's sure to keep opposition defences on their toes from fullback.

Making his debut on the right wing is the quick-stepping Alofa Alofa, whilst Wallaby Peter Betham is on the left.

In his favourite position at outside centre and partnering Beale is Adam Ashley-Cooper.

Joining the franchise after a stint with the Rebels, scrumhalf Nick Phipps becomes the fourth member of his family to play for the Waratahs.

In the pack, the front row is all-Wallaby, with Benn Robinson and Tatafu Polota Nau teaming up with Paddy Ryan, who edges out Sekope Kepu.

"Both have their pluses and there is very little between them but Paddy has had a little bit more aggression and grunt in the trials," said Cheika on his decision.

Selecting the locks has been one of the hardest decisions for the coach, who has opted for Kane Douglas and 21-year-old Will Skelton and left former Springbok Jacques Potgieter.

"I think Skelton has done enough to warrant an opportunity."

Captain Dave Dennis and Michael Hooper are the flankers, with the seasoned Wycliff Palu playing No. 8.


1. Benn Robinson , 2. Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Paddy Ryan , 4. Will Skelton , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Dave Dennis (c), 7. Michael Hooper , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Peter Betham , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements: 16. Tola Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Sekope Kepu , 19. Jacques Potgieter , 20. Stephen Hoiles /Pat McCutcheon , 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22. Rob Horne , 23. Matt Carraro /Cam Crawford

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news