Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Folau helps Waratahs to bonus point Force victory

Israel Folau scored a hat trick of tries in the Waratahs Super Rugby season opener

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Sunday 23 February 2014|

A hat-trick of tries from Israel Folau helped the Waratahs to a 43-21 bonus point Super Rugby victory over the Western Force in Sydney on Sunday.

Folau scored his first try in the second minute of the match and his third came in the 66th minute - 10 minutes after Kane Douglas had scored the bonus point try for the home side.

Folau picked up where he left off in last year's trailblazing debut season with three tries in the Tahs' six tries-to-two win over Force in Sydney.

The fullback scored in the opening minute and added a second off a Wycliff Palu break and completed his hat-trick of tries in the 66th minute.

Folau has now scored 11 career Super Rugby tries after making the switch to rugby last year where he also scored 10 tries in 15 internationals for the Wallabies.

"Izzy certainly knows his way to the try-line and he's following on from last year," Waratahs captain Dave Dennis said.

"Three tries straight up. He's a great player for us and the guys worked hard to give him those opportunities which was more important.

"The set piece is a strength of ours and we have a great back-line so we have to make sure we are on to the set piece and give them the opportunity to attack."

It was a lively opening game for the Waratahs, who led 22-11 at halftime and clinched their bonus-point fourth try in the 57th minute through forward Kane Douglas.

It was the first time since round five in 2012 that the Waratahs have picked up a four-try bonus point in Super Rugby.

Fellow Wallaby Kurtley Beale, back with the Waratahs after a short stint at the Melbourne Rebels, impressed at inside-centre and featured in several of the team's passing rushes.

Beale dashed over for the Waratahs' sixth try in the final minutes.

Fly-half Bernard Foley finished with 13 points from five conversions and a penalty goal.

The Waratahs who have been under-achievers in Super Rugby despite their all-star lineup have now made a strong start to the season under coach Michael Cheika.

However, execution eluded the Waratahs too often, with the new-look playmaking combination of Foley and Beale lacking cohesion early in a mistake-riddled performance.

But the intention was there for the Waratahs, as they stuck with their attack-at-all-costs game plan.

Springbok hardman Jacques Potgieter came on in the second half and soon became involved with Force's South African contingent in robust exchanges.

The Force battled hard despite being outgunned out wide and finished with tries to Wallaby winger Nick Cummins and centre Kyle Godwin.

The Perth-based team had a scare when their South African flanker Brynard Stander was taken from the field on a medi-cab with his neck in a precautionary brace late in the match.

Final Score Waratahs 43 (22) Force 21 (11)


Tries - I.Folau 3, A.Alofa, K.Douglas, K.Beale
Pen - B.Foley
Con - B.Foley 5
Drop -
Cards - P.Ryan (yellow 43rd min)

Tries - N.Cummins, K.Godwin
Pen - Z. Holmes 3
Con - Z.Holmes
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Rohan Hoffmann (Australia)
Assistant Ref 1: Matt O'Brien
Assistant Ref 2: Ed Martin
TMO: George Ayoub



1. Benn Robinson , 2. Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Paddy Ryan , 4. Will Skelton , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Dave Dennis (c), 7. Michael Hooper , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Peter Betham , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements: 16. Tola Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Sekope Kepu , 19. Jacques Potgieter , 20. Stephen Hoiles /Pat McCutcheon , 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22. Rob Horne , 23. Matt Carraro /Cam Crawford

Western Force

1. Pek Cowan/Tetera Faulkner,2. Nathan Charles/Heath Tessmann,3. Ollie Hoskins/Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes ,5. Hugh McMeniman/Wilhelm Steenkamp,6. Chris Alcock/Angus Cottrell,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman/Brynard Stander,9. Alby Mathewson/Ian Prior,10. Sias Ebersohn/Zack Holmes,11. Nick Cummins,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Junior Rasolea,14. Marcel Brache/Patrick Dellit ,15. Luke Morahan

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news