Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Potgieter starts as Waratahs change one for Reds

Jacques Potgieter has replaced Will Skelton

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Tuesday 25 February 2014|

Waratahs Super Rugby coach Michael Cheika has made one change to the side that beat the Force with a bonus-point for this weekend's match against the Reds at ANZ Stadium.

Former Springbok lock Jacques Potgieter will start in place of Will Skelton, with the 21-year-old dropping back to the bench for Saturday Templeton Cup match.

"It's not about form, it's about the roles they have to play in this particular game," said Cheika.

"Jacques brings a different set of skills than Will. He has more experience and won't give a damn that it's a derby game. He brings a real physicality to the game in both attack and defence."

Australia's biggest rugby player Will Skelton will still have an important role to play when he gets his chance.

"Jacques was blowing pretty heavily after his 37 minute stint against the Force," said the coach. "When Will gets on, he'll be expected to maintain the level of intensity and do the job he's been set."

Prop Paddy Ryan has withstood the challenge from Sekope Kepu and will retain his place alongside Benn Robinson and Tatafu Polota Nau at the coalface in an all-Wallaby front row.

Despite a minor knee injury, captain Dave Dennis will lead the side out. The backline remains untouched with Bernard Foley and Kurtley Beale in charge of the midfield.

Rookie winger Alofa Alofa has held his spot after crossing for a try on debut and, along with Wallaby Peter Betham and Israel Folau, has his sights on being part of the best back three in this year's Asteron Life Super Rugby competition.

The prestigious Templeton Cup is symbolic of Australian Rugby's oldest and most fierce rivalry between the Queensland Reds and the New South Wales Waratahs.

It is named after legendary Queensland coach and administrator Bob Templeton (1932-1999) and was introduced in 2000 as a mark of respect to the service Templeton gave to the game.

Queensland is NSW's oldest opponent, with the first game between the two states taking place back on 12 August 1882 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (NSW won 26-4).

For this reason, the match will form the centrepiece of NSW's 140th anniversary celebrations. The pre-match build up will see the announcement of the NSW Waratahs greatest ever game (as selected through a legends and fans poll). Additionally, NSW Alumni will form the guard of honour as the teams take the field.


1. Benn Robinson , 2. Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Paddy Ryan , 4. Jacques Potgieter , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Dave Dennis (c) , 7. Michael Hooper , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Peter Betham , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements from: 16. Tola Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Sekope Kepu , 19. Will Skelton , 20. Stephen Hoiles , 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22. Rob Horne , 23. Matt Carraro , 24. Pat McCutcheon , 25. Jonno Lance

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news