Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Schwalger returns as Chiefs change for Highlanders

Mahonri Schwalger starts for the Chiefs against the Highlanders

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 27 February 2014|

The Chiefs have named their team to play the Highlanders in their first home match of the Super Rugby season with Mahonri Schwalger returning to the starting line up.

Following the Chiefs 10-18 victory over the Crusaders in Christchurch last week the Chiefs coaches have stuck with their policy of giving players a start when depth prevails.

This process sees Pauliasi Manu start at loosehead prop and Jamie Mackintosh move to the replacements bench and Mahonri Schwalger will make his long awaited return to rugby since sitting out the 2013 ITM Cup.

Lock Matt Symons and flanker Nick Crosswell come into the starting line-up, joined by Tanerau Latimer with Liam Messam moving into the No 8 spot.

Tawera Kerr-Barlow has recovered from a rolled ankle to start at halfback and the back line remains the same.

After blooding in seven new Chiefs last week, including five Super Rugby debutants, the Chiefs will increase that number with Liam Squire having his chance to make his debut off the bench.

The new additions to the replacements this week are hooker Rhys Marshall, prop Josh Hohneck and Tevita Koloamatangi.

Chiefs Coach Dave Rennie said, "I was really impressed with the passion and the physicality that the Highlanders played with last week. I really felt they out muscled and out enthused the Blues, so it will be another entertaining New Zealand derby match on Saturday night."


1. Pauliasi Manu, 2. Mahonri Schwalger, 3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Michael Fitzgerald, 5. Matt Symons, 6. Nick Crosswell, 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Liam Messam, 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 10. Aaron Cruden (c), 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 12. Charlie Ngatai , 13. Robbie Fruean,14. Tim Nanai-Williams , 15. Mils Muliaina

Replacements :16. Rhys Marshall, 17. Jamie Mackintosh, 18. Josh Hohneck, 19. Tevita Koloamatangi, 20. Liam Squire, 21. Brad Webber ,22. Andrew Horrell, 23. James Lowe

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news