Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Waratahs lose Dennis as Hooper gets captaincy

Michael Hooper takes over the Waratahs captaincy from Dave Dennis

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 27 February 2014|

The Waratahs have been forced into making a late change for this weekend's Super Rugby match against the Reds due to the withdrawal of captain Dave Dennis.

Dennis was initially expected to be fit to face the Reds but failed to recover from a knee injury sustained in Sunday's bonus-point win over the Force.

Due to his waithdrawal Hooper will now lead the NSW Waratahs for the first time this Saturday

Dennis' place in the starting XV will be taken by Stephen Hoiles, with Pat McCutcheon joining the bench.

Invited to train with the squad for the 2014 pre-season, Hoiles was named on the bench for last week's Force clash and came on for Dennis in the 66th minute.

The eight-year stretch between caps (he last played for NSW on May 19, 2006) is bettered by only two other players (Phil Hardcastle 2/5/1938 to 27/7/1946 and Jack Turnbull 12/6/1939 to 24/5/1947), both of whom had their career interrupted by World War II.

Updated Waratahs team

1. Benn Robinson , 2. Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Paddy Ryan , 4. Jacques Potgieter , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Stephen Hoiles , 7. Michael Hooper (Manly, captain) , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Peter Betham , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Israel Folau ,

Replacements from 16. Tola Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Sekope Kepu , 19. Will Skelton , 20. Pat McCutcheon , 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22. Rob Horne , 23. Matt Carraro , 24. Jonno Lance

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news