Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Coleman starts for Brumbies against Western Force

Robbie Coleman has been named to start this weekend

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 27 February 2014|

The Brumbies have named Robbie Coleman to make his first appearance this year in the team to play the Western Force in Perth on Saturday.

Coleman is one of two changes to the starting side, with just one switch occurring on the bench.

Ironically, Saturday is Coleman's first appearance since the Brumbies travelled to Perth to face the Force in the corresponding fixture of 2013.

Wallaby winger Joe Tomane has been ruled out through an ankle injury which brings Coleman on to the wing.

Closer in, Wallabies outside centre Tevita Kuridrani takes back the starting spot in jersey No. 13 with Andrew Smith moving to the bench.

The rest of the side remains as it was named for the opening round against the Reds at Canberra Stadium.

Brumbies Captain Ben Mowen said the Force was always a difficult team to beat, particularly when facing it in the west.

"Over the last two or three years some of the toughest battles we've faced have been against the Force, particularly when we are playing them here in Perth," Mowen said.

"There was no better example of that than the last round of last year when they managed to knock us off quite convincingly.

"After a disappointing start to the season last week, we know what areas need to improve. If we can achieve those changes then there's no reason we can't come home with our first win of 2014."

Since 2011, the ledger is almost even between the two sides with the Brumbies winning three matches, the Force two and one draw.

The Force will field up to nine former Brumbies Academy or Brumbies players in their team on Saturday, with Robbie Abel, Phoenix Battye, Nathan Charles, Adam Coleman, Zack Holmes, Ian Prior, Junior Rasolea, Ed Stubbs and Rory Walton all currently holding contracts in the west.


1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephan Moore , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Scott Fardy , 5. Sam Carter , 6. Ben Mowen (c) , 7. David Pocock , 8. Jarrad Butler , 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Robbie Coleman , 12. Pat McCabe , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements :16. Siliva Siliva , 17. Ruan Smith , 18. Ruaidhri Murphy , 19. Leon Power , 20. Lachlan McCafrrey , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Andrew Smith , 23. Lionel Cronje

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news