Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Bonus point Chiefs weather Stormers comeback

James Lowe of the Chiefs is tackled by Jacobus Petrus Van Wyk of the Stormers

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 14 March 2014|

The Chiefs survived a late comeback by the Stormers to win the match 36-20 and remain unbeaten in this year's Super Rugby tournament.

Super Rugby champions the Chiefs outscored the Stormers by five tries to two which earned them the bonus point.

The result drops the Stormers to the bottom of the South African Super Rugby conference and keeps the Chiefs at the top of the New Zealand Conference. The Chiefs moved into second place in the overall standings.

Stormers captain Jean de Villiers and Tanerau Latimer both won their 100th Super Rugby caps but Latimer scored a try and the Chiefs allowed him to take the conversion in extra time which he missed.

The Chiefs hit the road next week as they travel to Perth to play the Force and then on to South Africa for matches against the Bulls and Cheetahs.

The Stormers tour continues with matches in Australia against the Brumbies and Reds before they return home to face the Waratahs.

The score would have been even more lop-sided but Stormers skipper Jean de Villiers ran down Gareth Anscombe late in the match to stop a certain try.

After the match De Villiers was in no mood to celebrate playing his 100th Super rugby game.

"We didn't play well, it was obviously not the result we wanted," he said.

"We did show heart at some stages of the game but at the end it was pretty disappointing.

"The Chiefs put us under a lot of pressure, there's a reason they've been champions for the last two years."

The Chiefs adopted a kicking game to try to breach the Stormers' defensive line and the tactic paid dividends when Tom Marshall's chip set up James Lowe for the opening try.

The second came after the half time siren and followed a period of patient build-up play when the Chiefs worked the ball forward for Marshall to score in the corner.

The South Africans were convinced Marshall knocked on before grounding the ball but replays showed a Stormer had knocked it back, so the five-pointer stood, with Aaron Cruden adding the conversion.

Tawera Kerr-Barlow made it three immediately after the restart when Matt Symons charged down a kick and sparked an attack that saw the winger dot down between the posts, blowing out the lead to 24-6.

The Stormers clawed one back when winger Gio Aplon went on jinking run with 20 minutes to go, then Nizaam Carr's effort narrowed the gap to four points in the 74th minute.

But hopes of an unlikely comeback were snuffed out when Tevita Koloamatangi drove over the line, followed two minutes later by Tanerau Latimer, who was also marking his 100th Super rugby game.

The flanker marked the occasion by waving away Cruden and attempting to convert his own try, hooking his kick well wide of the posts to end the match.

Final Score Chiefs 36 (17) Stormers 20 (6)


Tries - J. Lowe , T,Marshall, T.Kerr-Barlow, T. Koloamatangi, T. Latimer
Pen - A.Cruden
Con - A.Cruden 4
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - G.Aplon,N. Carr
Pen - D.Catrakilis 2
Con - P.Grant 2
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2:Shane McDermott
TMO : Ben Skeen



1. Jamie Mackintosh , 2. Mahonri Schwalger , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Liam Squire , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden (c) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Tom Marshall , 13. Charlie Ngatai , 14. Tim Nanai-Williams , 15. Gareth Anscombe

Replacements : 16. Rhys Marshall , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Josh Hohneck , 19. Michael Fitzgerald , 20. Tevita Koloamatangi , 21. Brad Webber , 22. Robbie Fruean , 23. Asaeli Tikoirotuma


15. Jaco Taute , 14. Kobus van Wyk , 13. Jean de Villiers (captain) , 12. Damian de Allende , 11. Gio Aplon , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen , 7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain) , 6. Deon Fourie , 5. De Kock Steenkamp , 4. Ruan Botha , 3. Brok Harris , 2. Tiaan Liebenberg , 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee , 17. Oliver Kebble , 18. Frans Malherbe , 19. Siya Kolisi , 20. Nizaam Carr , 21. Louis Schreuder , 22. Peter Grant , 23. Sailosi Tagicakibau

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news