Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks beat Reds in Durban

Live Super Rugby Scoring !

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 14 March 2014|


Along with the Waratahs the Sharks have scored the most tries in Super Rugby so far this season and they will be up against the team with the highest tackle success rate.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Pat Lambie kicks off and we are underway.

1.00: The Reds immediately kick the ball back and the ball goes out.

2.00: The Sharks are caught offside so the Reds have a shot at goal.

3.00: Cooper take the penalty kick and nails it. The Reds lead.

4.00: The Sharks go through six phases attacking the Reds but they have to kick and it turns out to be great as it rolls out by the 5m line.

6.00: The Reds defend the line out and work the ball all the way back down into the Sharks 22.

7.00: The Reds are keeping the Sharks back in their half. SP Marais has a run but it stopped. The Sharks have to kick again.

08.00: Penalty to the Sharks on the half way line. Frans Steyn takes the shot - its a big one - he nails it. The scores are level.

13.00: The Reds are weathering the Sharks attacks. They win a penalty in front of the posts.

14.00: Cooper takes the penalty kick and slots it. The Reds lead again.

17.00: The Sharks go through 8 phases and get on to the Reds 22. The Sharks win a penalty for hands in the ruck. The Sharks will kick.

18.00: Lambie takes the kick and levels the scores.

22.00: Another penalty to the Sharks. Lambie takes the shot again. This time from the left. He nails it. The Sharks lead for the first time.

23.00: The Sharks are starting to become more dominant. JP. Pietersen makes a break down the wing but trips and the Sharks keep the ball alive. They attack down the other wing and then they win another penalty.

25.00: Lambie takes the kick and nails this one too.

26.00: The Sharks get a break down the wing as  S'bura Sithole has a run. He is stopped but then they recycle and drive forward.

27.00: The Ref decides not to go to the TMO to check the grounding and Willem Alberts is awarded the TRY.  

27.00: Lambie takes the conversion kick and slots it.

29.00: The Reds try to kick for the wings after the restart and JP Pietersen has to take the ball out. The Reds then win the line out and set up the maul.

30.00: The Reds somehow lose the ball in a ruck and then Bismarck du Plessis kicks well upfield. The Sharks then press them even further back.

Ryan Kankowski goes in a bit high on Liam Gill who goes to ground and then the ref awards a penalty to the Sharks.

33.00: Lambie takes the kick and slots it.

35.00: Another penalty for the Sharks. Frans Steyn takes the shot and nails it.

37.00; The touchie comes in to report on Frans Steyn and an off the ball tackle so the Reds have a penalty. The Reds kick for touch.

39.00:The Reds win the line out and go through the phases on attack. The Sharks go a little high but the Reds are awarded a penalty for offside. There is a break in play for James Horwill. The Reds choose the line out on the 5m line.

40.00: The Reds win the line out and pass the ball to Mike Harris who drops the ball on his way to the tryline.

It's half time.

The half time score was Sharks 25 Reds 6

The second half is underway.

42.00: The Sharks absorb pressure from the Reds.

44.00: The Reds are awarded a penalty for a late tackle by JP Pietersen. The Reds kick for the corner.

45.00: The Reds win the line out and set up the maul.

49.00: The Reds put in a big scrum and the Sharks scrum disintegrates. The Reds however lose the ball and the Sharks then knock on.

51.00: The Reds have the ball on attack in the Sharks 22. Aidan Toua chips through and chases but the Sharks just beat him behind the line.

53.00: The Reds continue to attack. Cooper slips a pass to Harris who shrugs off a tackle and scores the Reds first TRY!

54.00: Cooper adds the conversion.

57.00: All of the stats have swung into the Reds favour this half as they are dominating the play.

58.00: The Sharks get some relief as they win a penalty. They will kick for posts.

59.00: Lambie takes the penalty kick and slots it.

61.00: The Reds continue to pin the Sharks back in their half.

62.00: The Sharks try to boot the ball out of their half so the Reds run it back pushing the Sharks back. Will Genia gets the ball and races for the line and scores. TRY!

63.00: Cooper takes the conversion kick and slots it.

67.00:  Beau Robinson connects with Tera Mtembu at the line out and is shown a yellow card as the Sharks player landed on top of him.

68.00: The Reds then work the ball back into the Sharks half even though they are a man down. However they concede a penalty.

69.00: Frans Steyn kicks for touch but misses. The Reds boot it back and the Sharks kick it out.

73.00: The Sharks get the ball into the Reds 22 for the first time this half. They set up a line out but its Reds ball and they try to run the ball out. That fails to work so they have to kick.

74.00: The Sharks chip ahead and chase but then they appear to lose the ball as they go over. Twice. We go to the TMO to check. The TMO "guesses"that he knocked on. Didn't have to guess too hard. Anyway no try. 5m scrum.

75.00: Injury break as the Reds lose Ben Daley to injury. He has to be helped from the field.

77.00: The Sharks use the extra numbers and Dale Chadwick drives over the tryline and scores the Sharks second TRY.

78.00: Lambie slots the conversion. That's 7 out of 7.

79.00: The Sharks set up a line out in the Reds 22.

80.00: The Sharks win the line out initially as they then lose it forward. The Reds attack.

Time runs out for the Reds. That's it. The Sharks win.

The final score is Sharks 35 (25) Reds 20 (6)


Tries - W.Alberts, D. Chadwick
Pen - F.Steyn 2, P.Lambie 5
Con - P.Lambie 2
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - M.Harris, W.Genia
Pen - Q.Cooper 2
Con - Q.Cooper 2
Drop -
Cards - B.Robinson (67th min yellow)

Match Officials
Lourens van der Merwe
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Stefan Breytenbach
TMO : Shaun Veldsman



15. SP Marais , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. S'bura Sithole , 12. Frans Steyn , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Anton Bresler , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements : 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. AN Other, 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Charl McLeod , 22. Heimar Williams , 23. Jaco van Tonder


1. James Slipper,2. Saia Fainga'a,3. Greg Holmes,4. Rob Simmons,5. James Horwill (C),6. Eddie Quirk,7. Liam Gill,8. Jake Schatz,9. Will Genia (VC),10. Quade Cooper,11. Lachie Turner,12. Mike Harris ,13. Chris Feauai-Sautia,14. Rod Davies,15. Aidan Toua,

16. James Hanson,17. Ben Daley,18. Jono Owen,19. Ed O'Donoghue,20. Beau Robinson,21. Nick Frisby,22. Ben Tapuai,23. Dom Shipperley

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news