Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Hurricanes shuffle squad for Highlanders match

Andre Taylor makes his first appearance in the Hurricanes squad this year

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 20 March 2014|

Hurricanes coach Mark Hammett has shuffled his squad for this week's Super Rugby match against the Highlanders in Dunedin on Friday.

The Hurricanes are striving for back-to-back wins as they prepare for their first Super Rugby match against New Zealand opposition on Friday following their victory last week over the Cheetahs.

The team travels to Dunedin tomorrow, to face a Highlanders side who sit one point above them on the New Zealand conference ladder.

Hammett's injuries have forced coach Hammett to change his winning team following injuries to James Marshall and Blade Thomson.

Marty Banks comes back into the starting line-up for Marshall, who is suffering a toe injury, while Andre Taylor makes his first appearance in the replacements as specialist fullback cover.

Faifili Levave moves into number eight, while Jack Lam returns to complete the back row, along with Ardie Savea.

Hawke's Bay's Ash Dixon is set to suit up for the first time this season, replacing Motu Matu'u on the bench.

"We're fortunate in that we've got three very, very good hookers - it's probably one of the most competitive spots in the team," said Hammett.

"This week, we've decided to give Ash an opportunity, while we can also give Motu some decent game time for the development team."

Cory Jane suffered an ankle injury at training yesterday ruling him out of Friday's match, while Jeremy Thrush was unavailable for selection due to a personal commitment.


1. Ben Franks,2. Dane Coles,3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen,4. Mark Reddish,5. James Broadhurst,6. Jack Lam,7. Ardie Savea,8. Faifili Levave,9. Chris Smylie,10. Beauden Barrett,11. Julian Savea,12. Hadleigh Parkes,13. Conrad Smith (c),14. Alapati Leiua,15. Marty Banks

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon,17. Chris Eves,18. John Schwalger,19. Mark Abbott,20. Blade Thomson/Adam Hill,21. TJ Perenara,22. Matt Proctor,23. Andre Taylor

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news