Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Bulls beat Sharks in Pretoria

Live Super Rugby Scoring !

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 21 March 2014|

The Sharks have a dream set of fixtures this year and their trip to Pretoria this week will be for their first match away from their home in Durban.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

Patrick Lambie kicks off and we are underway.

1.00: The Sharks try to attack in the Bulls half but lose the ball forward.

4.00: Jan Serfontein is caught going off his feet so Steyn takes a huge kick with a penalty. He doesn't find touch though and the Bulls kick it back.

6.00: Tim Swiel comes on for Pat Lambie. Not sure why yet.

7.00: The Sharks make a break Cobus Reinach and after a couple of phases Willem Alberts goes over. TRY! Lambie is not coming back on.

8.00: Tim Swiel takes the conversion and slots it.

10.00; The Sharks are finding gaps in the Bulls all over the field. Steyn goes for a drop goal but just misses.

14.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Just outside the 22. Jacques-Louis Potgieter slots the penalty and the Bulls are on the board.

16.00: The Bulls chip the ball behind the Sharks and chase but the Sharks get back and save the try. The Bulls are doing things out of character.

21.00: The Bulls are starting to dominate the territory in the match. They work the ball into the Sharks half and Potgieter goes for a drop goal and nails it.

25.00; The Bulls win the ball in centrefield and Francois Hougaard looks to have gotten through but he loses the ball.

26.00; There is a short break in play as Stephan Lewies gets some help from the medics. He carries on.

29.00: The Bulls get attacking ball and move it down the line but then they kick the ball forward. The Sharks look to have knocked on but the referee says play on.

33.00: In a bit of a kicking duel Hougaard kicks for the corner and sets up a Sharks line out in the corner. The Bulls steal the line out but then the Bulls lose the ball forward in contact so the Sharks run the ball and then chip upfield.  

34.00: The Sharks win a line out on their throw. They use the maul but then the Bulls stop the maul, turn the ball over and run at the Sharks.

35.00: Penalty to the Sharks. They are near the half way line so Steyn will kick for posts.

36.00: Frans Steyn slots the penalty.

39.00: Penalty to the Sharks for offside just inside the Bulls half. Steyn takes the penalty kick and slots it.

40.00: Its half time.

The half time score was Bulls 6 Sharks 13

Potgieter kicks off and we are underway.

42.00: Deon Greyling goes into a ruck and injures his team mate Deon Stegmann so there is a break in play. The game resumes.

45.00: The Bulls break out and get into the Sharks half but the Sharks defence kicks in stops the move.

47.00: The Bulls have the ball making no real advantage and then Jacques du Plessis slips off a tackle on the 22m line and races for the tryline and scores.

48.00: Potgieter slots the conversion and the scores are level.

52.00: Bjorn Basson makes a break and gets the Bulls up to the 5m line. The Bulls recycle and they send the ball wide to JJ Engelbrecht who scores in the corner untouched. Credit to Basson for the break.

54.00: Potgieter adds the conversion.

57.00: The Sharks kick for touch and Potgieter catches it, takes a quick line out and goes for a drop goal from well out but slips. The Bulls are not playing like the Bulls. They are full of surprises.

61.00: The Bulls win a penalty for not releasing. They will kick for touch.

64.00: The Sharks seem to be lacking in ideas on how to combat the Bulls. They are definitely out of their comfort zone. Piet van Zyl comes on for the Bulls. Hougaard moves to the wing to replace Mastriet and van Zyl will play at 9.

65.00: Sharks Director of Rugby Jake White has brought on six replacements so far.

66.00: Penalty to the Sharks from the scrum. Frans Steyn takes the penalty kick. He nails it to cut the gap a little.

68.00: The Sharks try to kick upfield but the Bulls get back and make the mark. Visser's clearance kick pushes the Sharks back to the half way line.

69.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Steyn will kick. He curls it in. at first it looked like it was going wide but then it curled back in.

72.00: Another penalty to the Sharks. Steyn kicks for touch.

73.00: Steyn goes for a drop goal but misses. 22 drop out.

76.00: The Sharks try to attack but they knock on. The Bulls have a scrum on the Sharks 22. Potgieter is off for the Bulls.

77.00; The Bulls win the ball and have the advantage so they go for the drop but Pollard misses. They will get the penalty.

78.00: Pollard takes the penalty kick and nails it.

80.00; The Ball comes back from a ruck to Pollard as the siren sounds and he boots it out and the Bulls win.

That's it. The Bulls win.

The full time score is Bulls 23 (6) Sharks 19 (13)


Tries - J. Du Plessis, JJ.Engelbrecht
Pen - J. Potgieter, H.Pollard
Con - J.Potgieter 2
Drop - J.Potgieter
Cards -

Tries - W.Alberts
Pen - F.Steyn 4
Con - T.Swiel
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1:Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 2:Jaco van Heerden
TMO : Deon van Blommenstein



Jurgen Visser , Sampie Mastriet , JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein , Bjorn Basson , Jacques-Louis Potgieter , Francois Hougaard , Dewald Potgieter , Jacques du Plessis , Deon Stegmann , Victor Matfield (c), Paul Willemse, Werner Kruger , Callie Visagie , Dean Greyling.

Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi Morne Mellett, Marcel van der Merwe, Grant Hattingh , Jono Ross, Piet van Zyl , Handre Pollard , Ulrich Beyers.


15. SP Marais , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. S 'bura Sithole , 12. Frans Steyn , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Mar oetzee , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Anton Bresler , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Charl McLeod , 22. Tim Swiel , 23. Andre Esterhuizen

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news