Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Read to win 100th Super Rugby cap vs Hurricanes

Crusaders captain Kieran Read will win his 100th Super Rugby cap this weekend

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 26 March 2014|

Crusaders Head Coach Todd Blackadder has named Kieran Read to win his 100th Super Rugby cap for the Crusaders when they host the Hurricanes at AMI Stadium on Friday.

Blackadder's team to play the Hurricanes has just one change to the one that beat the Melbourne Rebels 19-25 two weeks ago before their bye.

Tim Perry is nursing a hamstring strain so loosehead prop Daniel Lienert-Brown has been called into the squad to provide cover from the reserve bench.

Lienert-Brown has been in the Crusaders Knights development team and was called into the NZ U20s squad last year as injury cover.

Having made his debut is 2007 Crusaders captain Kieran Read will lead the team out on Friday night for his 100th Crusaders game. He has played his entire Super Rugby career with the Crusaders.

Despite the numerous provincial, national and international awards that Read has won, he says earning 100 caps for the Crusaders still counts as one of his proudest rugby moments.

"This is my team. I have been playing for the Crusaders virtually since my professional rugby career began and I feel very proud to have represented this team for 100 games," Read said.

"When you look at the other players who have achieved 100 games for the Crusaders, you realise what an honour it is. Being selected for an award is one thing, but being selected for the Crusaders team 100 times is a real reflection of the hard work I've put in over the years and something I can feel truly proud of."


1. Wyatt Crockett,2. Ben Funnell ,3. Owen Franks,4. Luke Romano,5. Samuel Whitelock,6. Luke Whitelock,7. Matt Todd,8. Kieran Read (c),9. Andy Ellis ,10. Colin Slade ,11. Johnny McNicholl ,12. Tom Taylor ,13. Ryan Crotty (vc),14. Nafi Tuitavake ,15. Israel Dagg

Replacements :16. Codie Taylor ,17. Daniel Lienert-Brown,18. Nepo Laulala,19. Dominic Bird,20. Jordan Taufua,21. Mitchell Drummond ,22. Kieron Fonotia ,23. Nemani Nadolo

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news