Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Bulls v Chiefs Super Rugby Preview

Zane Kirchner of the Bulls is tackled by Lelia Masaga of the Chiefs in 2012

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 27 March 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Bulls and the Chiefs regardless of venue the Bulls have won four and the Chiefs have won once.

The Bulls and the Chiefs missed out on playing each other in 2013 and the last time the teams played was in 2012 in Hamilton and the Chiefs won 28-22.

The Bulls have played the Chiefs 16 times in Super Rugby since 1998 and the Bulls have won seven and lost 8 times. There was a draw between the teams in 2006.

That gives the Bulls a record of winning 44% of their matches against the Chiefs across all venues. The average score when the Bulls play the Chiefs is : Bulls 30 Chiefs 32

The match this weekend will be played in Pretoria at Loftus Versfeld which is home for the Bulls and where the teams have met 8 times since 1999.

Out of those 8 matches the Bulls have won six times and lost twice. That record gives the Bulls a record of winning 75% of their home matches against the Chiefs.

Interestingly looking at the Bulls record against the Chiefs they struggled in the early days as the Chiefs two wins were in 1999 and 2001.

The teams have played every second year at Loftus and every match since 2001 has been won by the Bulls. That is six straight wins at home for the Bulls and it means the Chiefs have not won in Pretoria since 2001.

The average score when the Bulls play the Chiefs is : Bulls 37 Chiefs 30.

In terms of form the Chiefs have been off their game in a few facets of the game. One of those is their line out which they have acknowledged and say that they have started working on. Against the Bulls the Chiefs line out will need to be perfect due to Victor Matfield being back in the team.

After the loss last week to the Force the Chiefs have made eight changes to their starting team. Several big names have been put on the bench which could be a tactic to combat the altitude or a disciplinary measure for last week's loss.

The Bulls started slowly and struggled before Jacques-Louis Potgieter arrived and he has steadied the ship and given them direction.

Having ended the Sharks unbeaten run last week the Bulls are now on a three match winning streak and their return to form has seen them move up to sixth place which is below the Chiefs in third overall.

In selection terms the Bulls have kept the team that beat the Sharks last week with the exception of Akona Ndungane who returns from compassionate leave.

The Bookies have given the Chiefs a 2 point start for this Match - with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The Chiefs have named an under strength starting team and their line out is a concern. The Bulls should edge this by 3.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 2/HD on the red button.

Average score: Bulls 30 Chiefs 32

Last five results
25 May 2012 Bulls v Chiefs 22-28 Hamilton
30 Apr 2011 Bulls v Chiefs 43-27 Pretoria
09 Apr 2010 Bulls v Chiefs 33-19 Hamilton
30 May 2009 (Final) Bulls v Chiefs 61-17 Pretoria
25 Apr 2009 Bulls v Chiefs 33-27 Pretoria

Bulls overall record against the Chiefs
Played 16 ,Wins, 7,Losses 8 ,Draws 1

Match No. 41: Bulls v Chiefs
Date :Saturday 29 March
Venue : Loftus Versfeld
Kick Off local: 15:00
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 2: Marc van Zyl
TMO: Shaun Veldsman



15 Jurgen Visser , 14 Akona Ndungane , 13 J J Engelbrecht , 12 Jan Serfontein , 11 Bjorn Basson , 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter , 9 Francois Hougaard , 8 Dewald Potgieter , 7 Jacques du Plessis , 6 Deon Stegmann , 5 Victor Matfield , 4 Paul Willemse , 3 Werner Kruger , 2 Callie Visagie , 1 Dean Greyling

Replacements : 16 Bongi Mbonambi , 17 Marcel vd Merwe , 18 Grant Hattingh , 19 Jono Ross , 20 Piet van Zyl , 21 Handre Pollard , 22 Ulrich Beyers , 23 Morne Mellet


1. Pauliasi Manu ,2. Rhys Marshall ,3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Matt Symons ,5. Brodie Retallick,6. Liam Messam,7. Tanerau Latimer,8. Kane Thompson,9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow,10. Aaron Cruden (c),11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma ,12. Tom Marshall,13. Andrew Horrell,14. Anton Lienert-Brown,15. Mils Muliaina

Replacements :16. Mahonri Schwalger,17. Jamie Mackintosh,18. Ben Afeaki,19. Michael Fitzgerald ,20. Sam Cane,21. Augustine Pulu ,22. Gareth Anscombe ,23. Tim Nanai-Williams

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news