Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks v Waratahs Super Rugby Preview

Marcell Coetzee of the Sharks is tackled by the Waratahs in 2012 when the teams last met

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 27 March 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Sharks and the Waratahs the Sharks have won one and the Waratahs have won four.

In addition, out of the last ten Super Rugby matches between the teams the Sharks have won just two.

Overall the Sharks have played the Waratahs 16 times since 1998 and the Sharks have won four times.

That gives the Sharks a record of winning 25% of their matches against the Waratahs across all venues.

The average score when the Sharks play the Waratahs at all venues is : Sharks 20 Waratahs 29.

The Sharks will have home advantage this weekend as the match is in Durban where the teams have played each other 7 times since 1999.

In those seven matches over the last 15 years the Sharks have won 3, lost 3 and drawn once - in 1999.

That gives the Sharks a record of winning 43% of their matches against the Waratahs at home.

The average score when the Sharks play the Chiefs : is Sharks 23 Waratahs 23.

In terms of form both the Sharks and the Waratahs have lost just one match this year. The Sharks have played an extra match as they started a week earlier so they have won four and the Waratahs have won three.

The big change this season for the Waratahs is that they have been scoring tries. In particular it has been Israel Folau that has been scoring most of the Waratahs tries and this week will be interesting as he is injured and will miss the match.

While Folau is one player who was ruled out due to injury the Waratahs have surprised most of their fans by making five other changes. Jonno Lance who is not well known in Sydney circles starts at fullback

Benn Robinson is back at loosehead prop in place of Paddy Ryan, while Wycliff Palu will make his NSW century when he runs on at No. 8. Both came off the bench against the Rebels last week.

Jacques Potgieter moves from flanker to lock, where he lines up alongside Kane Douglas, forcing Will Skelton to the bench.

No. 8 last week, skipper Dave Dennis will start at blindside flanker, with Michael Hooper retained at openside.

The Sharks too have made changes - and most surprisingly they have moved winger Lwazi Mvovo to fullback. Pat Lambie and Cobus Reinach have been ruled out so Fed Zeilinga and Charl McLeod come into the starting line up.

Even though the Sharks lost their first match last week they still lead the Super Rugby standings and they are at home where they are unbeaten this year. Crucially the Waratahs will also be without the tournaments top try scorer Folau which is a massive blow and has to have an impact.

The Bookies have given the Waratahs a 6 point start for this Match - with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. The Sharks have been at their best at home in 2014 and Kings Park has been a fortress for them. The Sharks should edge this by 2.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 2/HD on the red button.

Average score: Sharks 20 Waratahs 29

Last five results
24 Mar 2012 Sharks v Waratahs 30-34 Sydney
28 May 2011 Sharks v Waratahs 26-21 Durban
06 Mar 2010 Sharks v Waratahs 21-25 Sydney
09 May 2009 Sharks v Waratahs 12-16 Durban
24 May 2008 (Semi-final) Sharks v Waratahs 13-28 Sydney

Sharks overall record against the Waratahs
Played 16, Wins 4 , Losses 11, Draws 1

Match No. 42: Sharks v Waratahs
Date :Saturday 29 March
Venue : Kings Park
Kick Off local: 17:05
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 2: Marius Jonker
TMO: Deon van Blommenstein



15. Lwazi Mvovo , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. S'bura Sithole , 12. Frans Steyn, 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Fred Zeilinga , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Stephan Lewies, 4. Willem Alberts , 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen 20. Keegan Daniel, 21. Stefan Ungerer, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. SP Marais


1. Benn Robinson ,2. Tatafu Polota Nau ,3. Sekope Kepu ,4. Jacques Potgieter ,5. Kane Douglas ,6. Dave Dennis (c),7. Michael Hooper ,8. Wycliff Palu ,9. Nick Phipps ,10. Bernard Foley ,11. Peter Betham ,12. Kurtley Beale ,13. Adam Ashley-Cooper ,14. Rob Horne ,15. Jonno Lance

Replacements to be confirmed.

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news