Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Cheetahs v Chiefs Super Rugby Preview

Andries Strauss makes break for the line against the Chiefs last year

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 3 April 2014|

Out of the last five matches between the Cheetahs and the Chiefs, current Super Rugby champions the Chiefs have won four and drawn one match.

The Cheetahs have played the Chiefs seven times since they joined Super Rugby through the Super 14 in 2006 and the Chiefs have won five times and the Cheetahs have drawn twice.

In seven attempts then the Cheetahs have never beaten the Chiefs but they have close as they have drawn 29% of their matches.

The average score when the Cheetahs play the Chiefs is : Cheetahs 21 Chiefs 31.

This weekend the match will be played in Bloemfontein where the teams have met twice. The Cheetahs have actually had home advantage over the Chiefs on three occasions as in 2009 they held a match in Kimberley. The Chiefs won that match 20-28.

In the two home matches for the Cheetahs they have won one and drawn one giving them a record of drawing 50% of their matches. That also means that the Chiefs are undefeated by the Cheetahs.

The average score when the Cheetahs play the Chiefs in Bloemfontein is Cheetahs 28 Chiefs 31.

For this match the Cheetahs have made three changes. Trevor Nyakane comes into the starting line up to replace Caylib Oosthuizen. Lappies Labuschagne returns to starting line up replacing Jean Cook who moves from number 7 on the side of the scrum to number 8 at the back of the scrum.

Philip van der Walt has been ruled out for up to eight weeks after he broke his hand and the backline is unchanged from their last outing.

Last year the Cheetahs made the Super Rugby play offs but this year has been very different. They have played six matches and won 1 so far. Their only win was however in Bloemfontein where this year they have won one and lost one match.

At the time of writing the Chiefs had not yet named their team but no major changes to the side that came from 16 points behind to draw with the Bulls last week.

The Chiefs showed last week against the Bulls that they still have what it takes to win a Super Rugby title. Their loss in Perth to the Force was a shock but a loss in Pretoria against the Bulls was almost expected given how few teams win there.

Despite the fact that the Chiefs have not won their last two matches they are the top team in the New Zealand Conference while the Cheetahs are last on the overall standings and therefore also last in the South African Conference. The Cheetahs are not the same team they were last year.

The Bookies have given the Cheetahs a 7 point start for this Match - with an offer of a FREE $150 BET. There should be no shortage of points scored but the Chiefs should win this comfortably. The Chiefs should win by 9.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 2/HD on the Red Button.

Average score: Cheetahs 21 Chiefs 31

Last five results
02 Mar 2013 Cheetahs v Chiefs 3-45 Hamilton
14 Apr 2012 Cheetahs v Chiefs 33-39 Bloemfontein
23 Apr 2010 Cheetahs v Chiefs 25-25 Hamilton
18 Apr 2009 Cheetahs v Chiefs 10-28 Kimberley
08 Mar 2008 Cheetahs v Chiefs 20-22 Hamilton

Cheetahs overall record against the Chiefs
Played 7 Wins 0 ,Losses 5, Draws 2

Match No. 47: Cheetahs v Chiefs
Date :Saturday 5 April
Venue : Free State Stadium
Kick Off local: 15:00
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 2: Francois de Bruin
TMO: Deon van Blommenstein



1. Trevor Nyakane , 2. Adriaan Strauss (C) , 3. Maks van Dyk , 4. Lodewyk de Jager , 5. Francois Uys , 6. Boom Prinsloo , 7. Lappies Labuschagne , 8. Jean Cook , 9. Sarel Pretorius , 10. Johan Goosen , 11. Hennie Daniller , 12. Ryno Benjamin , 13. Johann Sadie , 14. Cornal Hendricks , 15. Willie le Roux (VC)

Replacements :16. Ryno Barnes , 17. Caylib Oosthuizen , 18. Rossouw de Klerk , 19. Andries Ferreira , 20. Teboho Mohoje , 21. Shaun Venter , 22. Elgar Watts , 23. Howard Mnisi


1. Pauliasi Manu ,2. Rhys Marshall ,3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Matt Symons ,5. Brodie Retallick,6. Michael Fitzgerald,7. Sam Cane ,8. Liam Messam (VC) ,9. Augustine Pulu ,10. Aaron Cruden (c),11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma ,12. Tom Marshall,13. Andrew Horrell,14. Tim Nanai-Williams ,15. Gareth Anscombe

Replacements :16. Nathan Harris ,17. Jamie Mackintosh,18. Josh Hohneck,19. Liam Squire ,20. Tanerau Latimer ,21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow ,22. Anton Lienert-Brown ,23. Mils Muliaina

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news