Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Brumbies too strong for inconsistent Blues

Nic White celebrates with double try scorer Pat McCabe

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 4 April 2014|

The Brumbies remained on top of the Australian Super Rugby Conference when they beat the Blues 26-9 in Canberra on Friday.

The loss for the Blues is their eleventh in a row away from home and takes them to a record of played seven matches in 2014 and lost four.

The result is the first time in Super Rugby history that the Brumbies have kept the Blues tryless.

The Brumbies scored three tries to nil with Wallaby centre McCabe claiming two of them in a commanding victory over John Kirwan's Blues.

McCabe made several breaks and constantly dented the defensive line in his best performance since breaking his neck for the second time in June last year.

It was the first time the Brumbies had kept the Blues try-less in Super Rugby and it was the 11th straight away loss for the inconsistent Aucklanders.

The win took the Canberra-based side five points clear at the top of the Australian conference ahead of the Waratahs, who play the Stormers in Cape Town on Saturday.

McCabe was prominent early before he powered through Blues fly-half Simon Hickey to open the scoring in the eighth minute.

The two sides traded two penalty goals each to go into the break with the Brumbies leading 13-6.

Fly-half Matt Toomua was replaced by Wallabies playmaker Christian Lealiifano at halftime after taking a knock to the knee and launched a half-break to get the Blues back-peddling.

Jesse Mogg fired out a long pass for McCabe to score his second try in the 53rd minute.

Diminutive winger Robbie Coleman wrapped up the game for the home side four minutes later after strong runs by Mogg and Ben Alexander.

Lealiifano kicked a penalty with 10 minutes left to open a 17-point buffer over the Blues, who dominated possession in the closing stages but could not score.

The Brumbies, under first-season coach Stephen Larkham, have now won five of their seven games, while the Blues have slipped to 3-4.

It was a much more enthusiastic Brumbies effort after their 32-24 upset loss to the Rebels in Melbourne the previous week.

"It was a great reaction after last week, we wanted to play with a lot of enthusiasm and passion and I thought we did that tonight," Brumbies captain Ben Mowen said.

"When you can turn around a side like the Blues and try to put pressure on their set-piece, then it helps you get a foothold in the game... it was a really pleasing display tonight."

Blues captain Jerome Kaino said his side wanted to carry on their momentum from last week's win over the Highlanders and try to get an away win.

"The Brumbies were able to get their kicking game going in the first half and they suffocated us getting the ball," Kaino said.

"We have to address that (losing away) and the bye has come at the right time for us and we have a lot of work to do. We have another away game against the Hurricanes after the bye."

Next week the Blues have a bye while the Brumbies travel to Brisbane to face the Reds who beat them 17-27 earlier in the season in Canberra.

Final Score Brumbies 26 (13) Blues 9 (6)


Tries - P.McCabe 2, R.Coleman
Pen - N.White 2, Lealiifano
Con - N.White
Drop -
Cards -

Tries -
Pen - S.Hickey 3
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2: Damien Mitchelmore
TMO: George Ayoub



1. JP Smith, 2. Siliva Siliva, 3. Ben Alexander, 4. Scott Fardy, 5. Sam Carter, 6. Jordan Smiler, 7. Jarrad Butler, 8. Ben Mowen (c), 9. Nic White, 10. Matt Toomua, 11. Robbie Coleman, 12. Pat McCabe, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Joe Tomane, 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements, 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Ruan Smith, 18. Ruaidhri Murphy, 19. Jack Whetton, 20. Lachlan McCaffrey, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Andrew Smith, 23. Christian Lealiifano


15. Charles Piutau,14. Frank Halai,13. George Moala,12. Ma'a Nonu,11. Tevita Li,10. Simon Hickey,9. Bryn Hall,8. Steven Luatua,7. Brendon O'Connor,6. Jerome Kaino ( C ),5. Hayden Triggs,4. Liaki Moli,3. Charlie Faumuina,2. Tom McCartney,1. Tony Woodcock

Replacements : 16. James Parsons,17. Sam Prattley,18. Angus Ta'avao,19. Jordan Manihera,20. Luke Braid,21. Sonatane Takulua,22. Francis Saili,23. Benji Marshall

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news