Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Force make Super Rugby history against Reds

Mike Harris of the Reds gets a pass away despite the tackle of Sias Ebersohn

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 5 April 2014|

The Western Force made Super Rugby history when they beat the Reds in Brisbane 29-32 to secure their first ever fourth victory in a row.

The Reds and the Force were level on 17 points each at half time and the Reds scored 12 second half points which edged them into the lead before the Force scored a late try by Jayden Hayward which won them the contest.

The Force outscored their hosts the Reds by three tries to two.

Fullback Hayward beat three tackles, including efforts by Wallaby halves Quade Cooper and Will Genia, to score next to the goalposts in the 79th minute to wrest back the lead in a see-sawing contest.

It was the much-improved Force's fourth straight win and propelled the Perth-based side to second spot behind the ACT Brumbies in the Australian conference ahead of the NSW Waratahs match in South Africa later Saturday.

The Force outscored the Reds three tries to two and slugged it out with the 2011 Super Rugby champions in a fluctuating second half where the lead changed six times.

Force began well with a 12-0 lead off the boot of South African fly-half Sias Ebersohn before the Reds hit the front with converted tries from Ben Tapuai and James Slipper.

Number eight Ben McCalman retrieved the lead for Force with a close-range try only for Cooper to level the scores at 17-17 at halftime with a penalty.

Mike Harris looked as though as he would kick the Reds to victory with four penalties as Force scored through ex-Red Luke Morahan and an Ebersohn drop goal.

But Force had the last word with Hayward breaking through three tackles to score the clinching try which he converted and then they saw off a drop goal attempt by Cooper after the full-time siren.

"The belief is there by scoring right at the end," Force skipper Matt Hodgson said.

"In previous years we would have gone into our shell, but the belief is there this year.

"We are playing as a fifteen combination between backs and forwards and people are stepping up this year, we have a whole group that is playing football."

It was a shattering defeat for the Reds, who slumped to 3-4 this season and only have the Melbourne Rebels below them in the Australian conference standings.

"They brought a lot of pressure on to our breakdown and we weren't good enough with our tackling," Reds skipper James Horwill said.

"We were committing too many numbers at the breakdown which didn't allow us to attack with numbers."

It was the Western Force's second consecutive win in Brisbane and follows successive victories this season against the Rebels, Highlanders and the Chiefs.

The Force will be at home next weekend against the Waratahs, while the Reds face the Brumbies in Brisbane.

Next week the Force host the Waratahs who will be on their way back from South Africa while the Reds host the Brumbies.

Final Score Reds 29 (17) W.Force 32 (17)


Tries - B. Tapuai, J.Slipper
Pen - Q.Cooper, M.Harris 4
Con - Q.Cooper 2
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - B.McCalman, L.Morahan, J.Hayward
Pen - S.Ebersohn 4
Con - J.Hayward
Drop - S.Ebersohn
Cards - A.Cottrell (23rd min yellow)

Match Officials
: Garratt Williamson
Assistant Ref 1: James Leckie
Assistant Ref 2: Ian Smith
TMO: Steve Leszczynski



1. James Slipper, 2. James Hanson, 3. Greg Holmes, 4. Rob Simmons, 5. James Horwill (C), 6. Eddie Quirk, 7. Beau Robinson, 8. Jake Schatz, 9. Will Genia (VC), 10. Quade Cooper, 11. Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 12. Mike Harris, 13. Ben Tapuai, 14. Rod Davies , 15. Ben Lucas

16. Albert Anae , 17. Pettowa Paraka, 18. Jono Owen, 19. Ed O'Donoghue, 20. Curtis Browning, 21. Nick Frisby, 22. Anthony Fainga'a, 23. Jonah Placid

Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes ,5. Wilhelm Steenkamp ,6. Angus Cottrell,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Nick Cummins ,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Solomoni Rasolea,14. Luke Morahan ,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements :16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner ,18. Ollie Hoskins,19. Adam Coleman,20. Brynard Stander,21. Ian Prior,22. Zack Holmes ,23. Marcel Brache

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news