Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Bulls bring in Matfield to face Highlanders

Victor Matfield wanted to rest on the tour but injuries mean he will have to play

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Tuesday 8 April 2014|

The Bulls have named their team to face the Highlanders on Friday in Dunedin with Victor Matfield returning to the starting line up.

Matfield had intended to take a coaching role on the Bulls tour of New Zealand and Australia but injuries to Deon Stegmann and Dewald Potgieter in the match against the Hurricanes have created a depth problem.

Stegmann and Potgieter both returned to South Africa and the Bulls called up Wimpie van der Walt as injury cover for the tour.

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke named a new loose trio for the match, the second of the team's overseas trip, with Grant Hattingh, Jacques du Plessis and Jono Ross the preferred combination.

Ross and Du Plessis comes in for the injured Deon Stegmann and Dewald Potgieter, whilst Hattingh comes in for Jacques Engelbrecht, who moves to the bench.

Matfield's promotion to starting lock pushes Paul Willemse down to the replacments bench.

William Small-Smith is new on the bench, replacing Ulrich Beyers. If he takes to the field, Small-Smith will make his Super Rugby debut.

Werner Kruger will play in his 100th Super Rugby match and Ludeke said, "It is great for Werner to play in his 100th match."

"He has been a real stalwart to the team since his debut in 2008 and has hardly put a foot wrong in all those seasons since. "

"He is the first to acknowledge though that personal milestones only mean something if the team function successfully as a unit and that will be something we will strive to achieve," said Ludeke.


15 Jurgen Visser , 14 Akona Ndungane , 13 J J Engelbrecht , 12 Jan Serfontein , 11 Bjorn Basson , 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter , 9 Francois Hougaard , 8 Grant Hattingh , 7 Jacques du Plessis , 6 Jono Ross , 5 Victor Matfield , 4 Flip van der Merwe (Capt) , 3 Werner Kruger , 2 Callie Visagie , 1 Dean Greyling

Replacements : 16 Bongi Mbonambi , 17 Marcel vd Merwe , 18 Paul Willemse , 19 Jacques Engelbrecht , 20 Piet van Zyl , 21 Handre Pollard , 22 William Small-Smith , 23 Morne Mellet

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news