Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Highlanders bring Thorn in to face Matfield's Bulls

Brad Thorn will go up against Victor Matfield this weekend

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 9 April 2014|

Highlanders head coach Jamie Joseph has named Brad Thorn in his starting line up to face the Bulls at Forsyth Barr Stadium on Friday.

Brad Thorn returns to the starting line-up and will face off against Victor Matfield in what is shaping up to be an exciting clash of the locking titans.

Matfield is a former Springbok Captain with 110 test caps to his name and is a player and mentor in the Bulls environment.

Both are known as hard men of rugby and will be out to prove they are as good as any of the younger players on the field.

After a close win against the Rebels in the previous round the Highlanders have made few changes to the starting line up in an effort to secure this round 9 win at home.

Kane Hames returns from a one week suspension and moves back into the loosehead position, Brad Thorn moves into 4 while Jarrad Hoeata goes to the bench and Elliot Dixon will start in the Number 8 jersey with Co-Captain Nasi Manu in the reserves, also joining the reserves this week; John Hardie.

Patrick Osborne comes back on to the wing with Kurt Baker sidelined for six weeks after a tipping tackle in the Rebels game.

The remainder of the backline stays unchanged for this last home game before the team heads to South Africa to play the Sharks and the Stormers.


1. Kane Hames , 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Chris King , 4. Brad Thorn , 5. Joe Wheeler , 6. Gareth Evans , 7. Shane Christie , 8. Elliot Dixon , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Shaun Treeby , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Richard Buckman , 15. Ben Smith (co-captain)

Replacements : 16. Ged Robinson , 17. Craig Millar , 18. Ma’afu Fia , 19. Jarrad Hoeata , 20. John Hardie , 21. Fumiaki Tanaka , 22. Trent Renata , 23. Nasi Manu (co-captain)

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news