Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Force v Waratahs Super Rugby Preview

Israel Folau slips past Nick Cummins in Sydney earlier this year

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 10 April 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Western Force and the Waratahs the Sydney based Waratahs have won four and lost one match.

Overall the Force have played the Waratahs 12 times since they joined Super Rugby in 2006 and the Force have won twice, drawn once and lost 9 matches.

That gives the Force a record of winning just 17% of their matches against the Waratahs. The average score when the Force play the Waratahs is Force 14 Waratahs 23.

This weekend the match will be played in Perth where the teams have met six times. In those six home matches the Force have never beaten the Waratahs so they have lost 100% of their home matches to the Sydney side.

The average score when the teams play in Perth is: Force 14 Waratahs 23.

The Force are currently the form team in Super Rugby as they have won their last four matches in a row. No other team in Super Rugby currently has a winning streak of more than two matches.

The current four match winning streak is the club's longest ever winning streak as they have never won five matches consecutively.

In terms of selection the Force have handed a starting debut to South African centre Marcel Brache which is the only change to the team that beat the Reds in Brisbane last week.

The Waratahs on the other hand have been able to bring their star player - Israel Folau - back from injury having missed their last two matches.

The Waratahs looked almost lost in their loss to the Sharks two weeks ago but last week they had structure against the Stormers and they will take great strength from the knowledge that they can win without Folau in the team. Folau is the Waratahs leading try scorer.

The travel factor will be evened out a little as the Force had to travel back from Brisbane last week while the Waratahs flew in from Cape Town. Looking at the team sheets the Waratahs are packed with Wallabies while in the Force's line up there are slim pickings. While that didn't matter too much last week against the Reds when the real pressure is on for the Force this week the experience should make the difference.

Earlier this season the Waratahs beat the Force 43-21 but since then the Force have improved greatly. The question is whether they have improved enough to beat the Waratahs at home in Perth for the first time.

The Bookies have given the Force a 4 point start for this Match - with an offer of a FREE $250.00 Bet. We feel that while the Force have been the biggest improver this year, a fifth consecutive victory is a little bit too much to ask. The Waratahs should edge this by two.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 2/HD.

Average score: Force 14 Waratahs 23

Last five results
23 Feb 2014 Force v Waratahs 21-43 Sydney
09 Jun 2013 Force v Waratahs 13-28 Perth
31 Mar 2013 Force v Waratahs 19-23 Sydney
13 Apr 2012 Force v Waratahs 18-23 Perth
17 Mar 2012 Force v Waratahs 21-20 Sydney

Force's overall record against the Waratahs
Played 12, Wins 2 , Losses 9, Draws 1

Match No. 53: Force v Waratahs
Date :Saturday 12 April
Venue : nib Stadium
Kick Off local: 17:40
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Ian Smith
Assistant Ref 2: Damien Mitchelmore
TMO: Steve Leszczynski


Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes ,5. Wilhelm Steenkamp ,6. Angus Cottrell,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Nick Cummins ,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Marcel Brache,14. Luke Morahan ,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner ,18. Ollie Hoskins,19. Adam Coleman,20. Brynard Stander,21. Ian Prior,22. Zack Holmes ,23. Chris Tuatara-Morrison


1. Benn Robinson , 2. Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4.Will Skelton , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Jacques Potgieter , 7. Michael Hooper , 8. Dave Dennis (c), 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Cam Crawford , 15 Israel Folau .

Replacements: 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Paddy Ryan , 19. Stephen Hoiles , 20. Pat McCutcheon , 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22 Jono Lance ,23. Matt Carraro

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news