Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Anscombe starts at 10 for Chiefs against Rebels

Gareth Anscombe last played at 10 in a 2012 pre-season match against the Highlanders

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 10 April 2014|

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has rotated his squad again and made eight changes to the team that drew with the Cheetahs for this week's clash in Hamilton with the Rebels on Saturday.

Eight changes have been made to the starting line up which has prop Jamie Mackintosh, lock Michael Fitzgerald and flanker Tanerau Latimer back in the forwards.

Kane Thompson will start in the No 8 jersey while Liam Messam moves to the reserves. Brodie Retallick takes over the captaincy duties for the match.

Gareth Anscombe gets his long awaited start at first five-eighth with Bundee Aki at second five- eighth. Aki will play his first match of the season after having shoulder surgery in the off season.

Mils Muliaina moves to the left wing and Tom Marshall shifts to fullback.

There have been four changes to the bench from last week. Pauliasi Manu moves to the reserves and is joined by Ross Filipo who gets the chance to have his first match of the season.

Jordan Payne gets the opportunity to make his Chiefs debut off the bench and could be the ninth new Chief this season to take the field.

Chiefs' coach Dave Rennie said, "The boys are happy to be home and really looking forward to playing in front of a big home crowd. "

"All the Australian sides have been impressive this year and the Rebels are in good form having recently beaten the Brumbies and narrowly losing to the Highlanders."


1. Jamie Mackintosh ,2. Rhys Marshall ,3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Michael Fitzgerald ,5. Brodie Retallick ©,6. Tanerau Latimer,7. Sam Cane ,8. Kane Thompson ,9. Augustine Pulu ,10. Gareth Anscombe (VC),11. Mils Muliaina ,12. Bundee Aki,13. Andrew Horrell,14. Tim Nanai-Williams ,15. Tom Marshall

Replacements : 16. Nathan Harris ,17. Pauliasi Manu,18. Josh Hohneck,19. Ross Filipo ,20. Liam Messam ,21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow ,22. Anton Lienert-Brown ,23. Jordan Payne

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news