Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Brache starts for the Force against Waratahs

Marcel Brache has been named in the Western Force starting line up

Email Article | Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 10 April 2014|


The Western Force have named their team to play the Waratahs on Saturday at the ‘Force Field' (nib Stadium) with Marcel Brache getting his first start.

American-born South African Brache played for the Stormers in 2012 but did not make the 2013 squad so he moved to the Force for the 2014 season.

Brache made one appearance for the Stormers in 2012 off the replacements bench but gets his first opportunity in the Western Force starting line-up this weekend.

The Force returns home on the back of four successive victories looking for an improved performance against a Waratahs line-up that claimed the two sides' opening match of the season, 43-21, in Sydney.

Brache, who has come off the bench in two matches for the Force this season, retains the outside centre role after replacing the injured Solomoni Rasolea - who fractured his wrist - during the Force's 32-29 win over the Queensland Reds last weekend.

Brache's inclusion is the only change to the Western Force starting line-up, while Chris Tuatara-Morrison is in line to make his Super Rugby debut after being named on the Western Australian reserves list.

Western Force Head Coach Michael Foley says his side is looking forward to the challenge of taking on one of the competition's front-runners.

"We were extremely pleased with the result against the Reds - in particular seeing our whole bench close out the game after an enormous effort from the starting XV," he said.

"Having said that, we acknowledge there were some areas of our game that need to be better if we're to get the result this weekend."

Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes ,5. Wilhelm Steenkamp ,6. Angus Cottrell,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Nick Cummins ,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Marcel Brache,14. Luke Morahan ,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner ,18. Ollie Hoskins,19. Adam Coleman,20. Brynard Stander,21. Ian Prior,22. Zack Holmes ,23. Chris Tuatara-Morrison

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news