Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Honey Badger hat-trick helps Force to fifth win

Nick Cummins of the Force scored a hat-trick of tries

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 12 April 2014|

The Western Force made history in Super Rugby when they won their fifth consecutive match by beating the Waratahs 28-16 in Perth.

The result means that the Western Force have now won five matches in a row for the first time in their history.

In 2013 the Force won four matches all season so 2014 is already a more successful season.

Wallabies winger Nick "The Honey Badger" Cummins scored a hat-trick of tries in the match.

Cummins joined Cameron Shepherd and Scott Staniforth on a short list of players who have scored hat tricks for the Western Force .

The Force had played the Waratahs six times in Perth and lost all six matches which makes the result their first home victory over the Sydney based Super Rugby franchise.

The Western Force outscored the Waratahs by three tries to one to one even though the Waratahs enjoyed the lion's share of possession for most of the match.

Cummins has attracted worldwide attention for his offbeat and colourful interviews, but let his rugby do the talking, twice sprinting almost the length of the field to score.

Although the Force suffered several injuries during the match, they held firm defensively despite the Waratahs constantly threatening with ball in hand.

Having held the Chiefs and Rebels tryless in their previous two home games, the Force threatened to do the same to the Waratahs for much of the match.

Time and again the Waratahs pressed, but each time the Force held strong, and when Cummins ran in his third try in the 61st minute, the home team incredibly led 25-9.

The Waratahs were ruing the absence of star playmaker Israel Folau, controversially ruled out by the Australian Rugby Union the day before the match.

Folau was set to make his comeback from a throat injury, before the ARU ruled him out.

The 'Tahs finally got their first try in the 66th minute, with Kurtley Beale diving over in the corner, but they couldn't make any further impression on the Force's lead.

Cummins had the game of his career, and made his first serious impact in the 27th minute.

The Waratahs looked certain to score the first try of the match, only for the Force winger to intercept a pass and sprint the length of the field to score under the posts.

Cummins added a second try in the 50th minute.

Alby Mathewson made a clever linebreak and dished off to Cummins, who dived over in the corner for his double.

Cummins added his third when he pounced on a loose ball after a Waratahs handling error.

He again charged down the field and although he was brought down just short of the line, Cummins was able to get up and roll over for the try.

Force skipper Matt Hodgson was rapt with how his side blunted the attacking thrusts of the Waratahs.

"It was a game won on our defence," he said.

Waratahs captain Dave Dennis also paid tribute to the defence of the Force.

"We put them under a lot of pressure," he said.

"We were a bit unlucky, but good defence from them kept us out."

Final Score Force 28 (13) Waratahs 16 (9)


Tries - N.Cummins 3
Pen - S.Ebersohn 3
Con - S.Ebersohn 2
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - K.Beale
Pen - K.Beale 2, B.Foley
Con - B.Foley
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Ian Smith
Assistant Ref 2: Damien Mitchelmore
TMO: Steve Leszczynski


Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes ,5. Wilhelm Steenkamp ,6. Angus Cottrell,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Nick Cummins ,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Marcel Brache,14. Luke Morahan ,15. Dane Haylett-Petty.

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner ,18. Ollie Hoskins,19. Adam Coleman,20. Brynard Stander,21. Ian Prior,22. Zack Holmes ,23. Chris Tuatara-Morrison


1. Benn Robinson , 2. Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4.Will Skelton , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Jacques Potgieter , 7. Michael Hooper , 8. Dave Dennis (c), 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12.Jono Lance , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Cam Crawford , 15 .Kurtley Beale.

Replacements: 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Paddy Ryan , 19. Stephen Hoiles , 20. Pat McCutcheon , 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22 Tala Gray ,23. Matt Carraro

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news