Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Lions name touring squad for Australia and NZ

Johan Ackermann will be in charge of his first Super Rugby tour with the Lions

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 24 April 2014|

Lions coach Johan Ackermann has named a 27-man squad for their four match Super Rugby tour of Australia and New Zealand which starts in Hamilton against the Chiefs.

The Lions get their tour underway on May the 2nd with a match against Super Rugby champions the Chiefs in Hamilton.

They will then head south to take on the Highlanders (Dunedin) before crossing over to Australia to play the Waratahs (Sydney) and finally the Western Force (Perth).

In the forwards Ruan Dreyer, Corne Fourie, Julian Redelinghuys, Schalk van der Merwe and Jacques van Rooyen will cover the prop positions.

Robbie Coetzee and new recruit Armand van der Merwe will cover the hooker berth, while Luvuyiso 'MB' Lusaseni, Rudi Mathee, Franco Mostert and Martin Muller have been drafted in as locks.

In the loose forward positions Willie Britz, Jaco Kriel, Derick Minnie and Warwick Tecklenburg have earned selection. Warren Whiteley will also continue to captain the side on tour.

Meanwhile, in the backline, scrumhalves Ross Cronje and Faf de Klerk have cracked the nod for the touring squad.

Utility backs included in the group are Marnitz Boshoff (flyhalf/fullback), Chrysander Botha (fullback/wing), JW Jonker (centre/wing), Lionel Mapoe(centre/wing), Courtnall Skosan (wing/centre) and Deon van Rensburg (wing/centre).

Specialist flyhalf Elton Jantjies has earned selection while winger Anthony Volmink has also booked his space in the squad. Stefan Watermeyer will cover the midfield as a specialist centre.

Golden Lions Rugby Union Chief Executive Officer Manie Booysen is pleased with the touring squad selections and is confident they will do the Lions brand proud while abroad.

"It is important to keep looking ahead and moving forward and both myself and the GLRU President, Kevin de Klerk, are confident this touring squad will put in solid performances while overseas," shared Booysen.

"The players and management have the full support of the Union and we are looking forward to seeing them excel on this trip."

The squad departs Johannesburg for New Zealand on Friday evening.

2014 Lions Super Rugby Touring Squad:

Marnitz Boshoff, Chrysander Botha , Willie Britz, Robbie Coetzee, Ross Cronje , Faf de Klerk, Ruan Dreyer, Corne Fourie, Elton Jantjies, JW Jonker, Jaco Kriel,Luvuyiso 'MB' Lusaseni, Lionel Mapoe, Rudi Mathee, Derick Minnie, Franco Mostert , Martin Muller, Julian Redelinghuys , Courtnall Skosan, Warwick Tecklenburg, Armand van der Merwe, Schalk van der Merwe, Deon van Rensburg, Jacques van Rooyen, Anthony Volmink, Stefan Watermeyer, Warren Whiteley

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news