Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Western Force beat Bulls in Perth

Live Super Rugby Scoring !

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 25 April 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Western Force and the Bulls the Perth-based Force have won two matches and the Bulls three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Force kick off and we are underway.

1.00: The ball is kicked out after the restart and comes off a Force player so the Bulls have the throw in. They win the line out and work the ball into the Force's half.

2.00:The Force knock on so the Bulls have an attacking scrum about 30m out.

3.00: The Bulls win a penalty as it starts to rain lightly. Jacques-Louis Potgieter will kick for posts.

4.00: Potgieter takes the kick and nails it. The Bulls lead.

7.00: The Force win a penalty as Jono Ross is caught holding on. The Force kick for touch. They win the line out and start to run the ball into the Bulls half.

8.00: The Force kick up field and Nick "Honey badger" Cummins gets to the ball but loses it.

11.00: The Bulls win a scrum and boot the ball upfield. The Force try to counter but lose the ball forward. The Bulls use the advantage and kick into space but the Force get back and kick the ball out.

12.00: The Bulls win a penalty for offside inside the Force's half. Potgieter will kick for posts. He nails it.

16.00: The Bulls bash away at the Force and can't get through, Potgieter goes for a drop goal and he hits the crossbar. The ball stays alive and the Force eventually kick it out.

21.00: The Force have a line out on the half way line. They overthrow the ball which gives the Bulls an attacking opportunity. The Force defend and eventually they get a 22 drop out.

24.00: The Force have some rare possession in Bulls territory. They win a penalty as the Bulls go off their feet. The Force will kick for posts.

25.00: Sias Ebersohn takes the kick and slots it. The Force are on the board. Werner Kruger has to leave the field due to injury. Marcel vd Merwe comes on.

26.00: The Force win a penalty as Ross takes out Cummins going for a high ball (playing the man without the ball). They kick for touch.

29.00: The Bulls win a scrum just outside their 22m line. They kick for touch but the ball goes straight to the Force.

31.00: The Force boot the ball back and then the Bulls don't roll away so the Force have a penalty.

32.00: Ebersohn will kick for posts. He stakes the shot, nails it and levels the scores.

35.00: The rain continues to come down. The Force are playing the ball much more in the Bulls half. Ebersohn goes for a drop goal but misses.

38.00: The Force have an attacking scrum. They win the scrum but get called back as a Bulls player was not bound. The Force have a penalty.

39.00: Ebersohn takes the penalty kick and slots it. The Force lead.

40.00: The siren sounds as the Bulls kick the ball out. Its half time.

The half time score was W.Force 9 Bulls 6

Potgieter kicks off and we are underway for the second half.

41.00: The Bulls win an early penalty so they kick for touch from their 22.

43.00; The Bulls fail to roll away again so the Force have another penalty. Ebersohn takes the kick and nails it.

46.00: The Force set up a line out on the Bulls 22. They use the short throw but the Bulls win the ball and kick upfield.

47.00: The Bulls win a penalty at the breakdown for holding on. Potgieter kicks for touch and gets the Bulls into the Force's half.

50.00: The Bulls set up their attack but Potgieter loses the ball in the rain and knocks on.

54.00: The Bulls win a penalty. They chose the line out in the Force's 22. Matfield wins the line out. However as they set up the maul they obstruct so the Force win a penalty.

57.00: The Force's attack gets on a roll and they get to the Bulls 5m line. They go left and then right but the Bulls hold them out. The Force get the advantage call and play on, they try the grubber but get called back for a penalty. The Bulls get a team warning. Next time will be a card for killing the ball. The Force will kick for posts.

58.00: Eberosohn takes the kick and he nails it.

61.00: The Bulls go on the attack and get the advantage. Handre Pollard (who has just come on) almost gets through the Force but he is stopped. The Bulls go back for the penalty. Pollard slots the penalty.

64.00: The Bulls attack has come alive since Pollard came on. The Bulls get to the Force's 5m line. The whistle goes as the Force slow the ball down but we go to the TMO as Jacques du Plessis shoulder charges a player so the Force get the penalty.

65.00: The Force kick for touch but don't find it. The Bulls play on. Pek Cowan tackles a Bandise Maku and he loses the ball and knocks on. The Bulls concede a penalty at the scrum so the Force kick upfield.

66.00: The Bulls counter attack but knock on.

70.00: The Force have a scrum just inside their half. They win the scrum and Ebersohn boots the ball down the wing and it bounces along the line and out. Turns out to be a good kick.

74.00; The Bulls work the ball into the Force's 22 and then Dane Haylett-Petty runs back into the Bulls defence and knocks on. The Bulls have an attacking scrum in the Force's 22.

76.00: The Bulls win the scrum and attack on the right and then come back to the other side and somehow the Force come away with the ball and kick it out.

77.00: The Bulls win the line out and go through the phases on attack. They go wide to Francois Hougaard on the wing but he gets isolated and concedes a penalty.

78.00: The Force kick for touch with the penalty.

79.00: The Force have the ball just inside their half. They are winding the clock down.

80.00: The Force wait for the siren and boot the ball out and win.

That's it.

The full time score is W.Force 15 (9) Bulls 9 (6)


Tries -
Pen - S.Ebersohn 5
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Tries -
Pen - J. Potgieter 2, H.Pollard
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: James Leckie
Assistant Ref 2: Matt O'Brien
TMO: Peter Marshall


Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Adam Coleman,5. Sam Wykes,6. Angus Cottrell,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Ian Prior,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Nick Cummins ,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Marcel Brache,14. Dane Haylett-Petty,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner ,18. Ollie Hoskins,19. Wilhelm Steenkamp,20. Brynard Stander,21. Justin Turner,22. Zack Holmes ,23. Chris Tuatara-Morrison


15 Jurgen Visser , 14 Akona Ndungane , 13 J J Engelbrecht , 12 Jan Serfontein , 11 Bjorn Basson , 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter , 9 Francois Hougaard , 8 Grant Hattingh , 7 Jacques du Plessis , 6 Jono Ross , 5 Victor Matfield , 4 Paul Willemse , 3 Werner Kruger , 2 Bongi Mbonambi , 1 Dean Greyling

Replacements : 16 Bandise Maku , 17 Marcel vd Merwe , 18 Jacques Engelbrecht , 19 Willem (Wimpie) van der Walt , 20 Rudy Paige , 21 Handre Pollard , 22 Ulrich Beyers , 23 Morne Mellet

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news