Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks beat Rebels in Melbourne

Live Super Rugby Scoring !

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 1 May 2014|

The Melbourne Rebels and the Sharks have only played each other twice since the Melbourne franchise joined Super Rugby in 2011.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

0.01: The Rebels kick off to the Sharks who are playing in white.

1.00: The Sharks almost get the perfect start. They chip the ball ahead and chase. Hegarty beats JP Pietersen and Lwazi Mvovo and knocks the ball out. We go to the TMO. Penalty try is considered but only a penalty is awarded on the 5m line.

2.00: The Sharks win the line out. They move the ball to the backs and spread the ball out to the side. The Rebels hold them out and they change sides and then kick for the corner but the Rebels are there and take the ball.

5.00: The Sharks are playing the game in the Rebels half but the home side are defending well.

7.00: The Sharks kick the ball into touch after some pressure from the Rebels which gives the Rebels some rare possession in the Sharks half.

11.00: The Sharks win a penalty as the Rebels don't release the ball. Scott Higginbotham thinks it's a tough decision. Frans Steyn boots the ball downfield.

14.00: The Rebels are growing. Mitch Inman breaks through the Sharks backline but the Sharks secondary defence stops him as he gets the ball away and knocks on.

15.00: The Sharks win the scrum and kick upfield, Woodward gets back and kicks the ball into touch sending the Sharks back to their 22.

17.00; Jason Woodward has a run for the Rebels, he is caught but the Rebels keep the ball alive and they change sides. Eventually the Rebels win a penalty.

19.00: Woodward will kick for posts. He nails the penalty shot and the Rebels lead.

20.00: The Sharks win a penalty back so Steyn takes the shot. He nails it to level the scores.

23.00: The Sharks look to attack but the pass to Paul Jordaan is low and he knocks on.

24.00: The Rebels concede a free kick from the scrum. The Sharks choose another scrum.

25.00: Penalty from the scrum to the Sharks. Steyn will kick for posts. He nails it and the Sharks lead.  

28.00: Penalty to the Rebels. Woodward line up the kick and nails it to level the scores again.

30.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Steyn's kick hits the post and bounces in. The Sharks lead.

32.00: The Rebels get through the Sharks first line of defence. Hegarty is stopped short. The Rebels recycle the ball and go through several phases of attack but then Hegarty grubbers and  Jannie du Plessis kicks the ball upfield. The Rebels attack.

33.00: The Sharks get the overlap after turning the ball over and work the ball into the Rebels 22 but they slow down and they are then pushed into touch.

34.00: The Sharks win a penalty for a dangerous tackle in that defence. Steyn lines up the posts and nails it.

38.00: Another penalty for the Sharks. This one is just outside the Rebels 22 and near the touchline. Steyn lines up the kick and nails it.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time. It is half time.  

The half time score was Rebels 6 Sharks 15

The Sharks kick off and we are underway. The Rebels have brought on Nic Stirzaker for Luke Burgess.

41.00: The Sharks start the half with a knock on giving the Rebels a scrum.

4300: Both teams still testing each other's defence this half.

44.00: The Sharks attack down the wing and look certain to score but then the Rebels just manage to push Heimar Williams into touch.

46.00: The Sharks look to attack from close range but Bismarck du Plessis knocks the ball on. The Rebels win the scrum and run the ball. The ball is lost and the Sharks run it into the corner where they are pushed into touch.

51.00: The Rebels work the ball into the Sharks half. The Sharks defend and the ball slows and goes dead. The Sharks get the put in at the scrum.

54.00: Penalty to the Rebels. Woodward takes the kick and nails it. Sharks lead by 6.

58.00: The Rebels have the ball and they are going through the phases. They lose the ball so the Sharks attack. They pass forward so we play on and the Rebels kick and the Sharks kick it out.

60.00: The Rebels win the line out but the Sharks turn the ball over and pass forward again.

63.00: The Sharks win the ball from a Rebels attack and counter. They spread the ball wide Mvovo makes huge ground and passes to JP Pietersen who goes in to score. TRY!

64.00: Steyn adds the conversion.

67.00: The Rebels work the ball up to the Sharks tryline. They go for the line but are just short. The Rebels do however get a penalty advantage.

69.00: The Rebels kick for touch. They win the line out and again the Sharks infringe so the Rebels get another 5m penalty. The Sharks get a warning.

70.00: The Rebels look like they will kick for the corner but they pass the ball to Pat Leafa who scores in the corner. TRY!

71.00: Woodward takes the conversion from the touchline and nails it.

76.00: Both teams still playing to win. Sharks lead by 6 so a Rebels converted try can win it. We have a break in play for an injury or two.

77.00: Free kick to the Rebels from a scrum. They run the ball but get stopped in the Sharks half.

78.00: The Sharks push the Rebels back into their half. The Rebels have the ball but they bash away at the Sharks and can't make ground.

79.00: The Sharks turn the ball over and go through the phases and then get pushed into touch.

80.00: The siren sounds as the Rebels win a line out. The Rebels run the ball and get initially through the Sharks defence. They keep the ball alive and keep running at the Sharks.

81.00: The Rebels get the ball into the Sharks 22. 11phases. 12 phases.

82.00: Penalty to the Sharks for not releasing. They kick for touch.

The full time score is Rebels 16 (6) Sharks 22 (15)


Tries - P. Leafa
Pen - J.Woodward 3
Con - J.Woodward
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - J.P.Pietersen
Pen - F.Steyn 5
Con - F.Steyn
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 1: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 2: James Leckie
TMO: Peter Marshall



1. Cruze Ah-Nau,2. Shota Horie,3. Laurie Weeks,4. Cadeyrn Neville,5. Luke Jones,6. Colby Fainga'a,7. Scott Fuglistaller,8. Scott Higginbotham (C),9. Luke Burgess,10. Bryce Hegarty,11. Tom English,12. Mitch Inman ,13. Tamati Ellison,14. Male Sau,15. Jason Woodward

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa,17. Max Lahiff,18. Paul Alo-Emilie,19. Hugh Pyle,20. Sean McMahon,21. Nic Stirzaker,22. Tom Kingston,23. Angus Roberts


15. Lwazi Mvovo , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Heimar Williams , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Francois Steyn , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Willem Alberts , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements : 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Keegan Daniel , 21. Cobus Reinach , 22. Fred Zeilinga , 23. SP Marais

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news