Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Hurricanes beat Rebels in Melbourne

Live Super Rugby Scoring !

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 8 May 2014|

Out of the last two Super Rugby matches between the Melbourne Rebels and the Hurricanes the Rebels have won one and the Hurricanes one.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Hurricanes kick off and we are underway.

1.00: The Hurricanes win the ball back from the restart and go through 12 phases. They get pushed back over the half way line but continue to go through the phases.

2.00: The Rebels concede a penalty for offside. Beauden Barrett will kick for posts.

3.00: Barrett takes the shot and just sneaks it over. Hurricanes lead.

6.00: The Hurricanes front row collapses in the scrum so the Rebels win a kickable penalty.

7.00: Jason Woodward takes the penalty kick but misses.

10.00: The Hurricanes win a penalty at the breakdown. Barrett will kick for posts again. He nails it.

14.00: The Rebels win a scrum in their half. They run the ball into the Hurricanes 22 but they lose the ball at the breakdown and the Hurricanes kick the ball out.

17.00: The Hurricanes win another penalty. Barrett lines up and takes the shot. He nails it.

21.00: The Rebels win a penalty. Jason Woodward takes the kick and this one he nails. The Rebels are on the board.

25.00: The Rebels get some relief as they win a penalty from their scrum inside their 22. They kick for touch.

27.00: Bryce Hegarty passes to Jason Woodward, he slices through the Hurricanes and then Hegarty comes up in support and gets the ball and scores the first TRY !

28.00: Woodward adds the conversion and the Rebels lead.

33.00: The Hurricanes work the ball into the Rebels 22. Julian Savea is held out in the corner but the ref was playing advantage so we go back for the penalty.

34.00: Beauden Barrett takes the penalty kick and nails it. The Hurricanes lead again.

38.00: The Rebels are looking to finish the half strongly. They work the ball into the Hurricanes half but then the Hurricanes turn the ball over and Cory Jane runs down the wing.

39.00: Jane kicks the all ahead and the Rebels counter attack. Eventually the ball goes dead and the Rebels win a penalty for joining the ruck incorrectly.

40.00: Jason Woodward will go for posts from 56m out.

41.00: Woodward takes the kick and it's short. The Hurricanes kick the ball into touch.  It's half time.

The half time score was Rebels 10 Hurricanes 12

The Rebels kick off and we are underway with the second half.

41.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes. Barrett takes the kick and nails it to extend the lead.

46.00: The Hurricanes work the ball into the Rebels 22 and they win a penalty. Barrett takes the kick but it hits the posts and bounces out. The Rebels get the ball back kick for touch.

48.00: Another penalty to the Hurricanes. Barrett takes the kick and again he misses.

50.00: The Rebels concede yet another penalty. This one is in front and Barrett slots it. Canes lead by 8.

53.00: Rebels captain Scott Higginbotham gets a team warning for slowing the ball down. The Hurricanes kick for touch with this penalty.

54.00: The Hurricanes put the Rebels under pressure in their 22. They pass the ball out to the wing and Conrad Smith can't control it and knocks on.  Dane Coles gets injured and comes off.

55.00: The Rebels win a penalty from the scrum for collapsing so Hegarty kicks for touch.

57.00: The Hurricanes attack on the left and suck in the Rebels, Barrett kicks to the right for Jane and he takes the ball gets to a metre out and is tackled but passes to Conrad Smith who scores. TRY!

58.00: Barrett slots the conversion.

61.00: The Rebels are coming back. They put the Hurricanes under pressure and it earns them a penalty.

62.00: Woodward takes the penalty kick but he misses.

65.00: The Hurricanes concede a penalty for not rolling away. Higginbotham says they will kick for touch. They do and they set up a line out in the Hurricanes 22.

66.00; The Rebels win another penalty in the Hurricanes 22. They go for the line but somehow the Hurricanes hold them out.

67.00: The Hurricanes stop the Rebels try but we go back for penalty and Conrad Smith is shown a yellow card. The Rebels choose the scrum.  

69.00: The Rebels win the scrum. They go wide but they are held up as they go over the line. We go to the TMO to double check. No try. 5m  scrum.

72.00: The Rebels continue to put the Hurricanes under pressure. They go over again and it looks like Tamati Ellison has scored. The TMO checks. It's a TRY! Woodward misses the conversion.

74.00: The Rebels continue to attack the Hurricanes. It's all the Rebels but then they fail to release the ball and concede a penalty. The Hurricanes clear.

77.00: Conrad Smith comes back on for the Hurricanes.

79.00: The Rebels launch another attack at the Hurricanes line but again they are held out. This time Mitch Inman is just pushed into touch.

80.00: The siren sounds, the Hurricanes  kick the ball into touch and win the match.

That's it.

The full time score is Rebels 15 (10) Hurricanes 25 (12)


Tries - B.Hegarty, T.Ellison
Pen - J.Woodward
Con - J.Woodward
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - C.Smith
Pen - B.Barrett 6
Con - B.Barrett
Drop -
Cards - C.Smith (67th min yellow)

Match Officials
Matt O'Brien
Assistant Ref 1: Steve Walsh
Assistant Ref 2: Ed Martin
TMO: Peter Marshall



1. Cruze Ah-Nau,2. Pat Leafa,3. Laurie Weeks,4. Cadeyrn Neville,5. Luke Jones,6. Colby Fainga'a,7. Scott Fuglistaller,8. Scott Higginbotham (c), 9. Luke Burgess,10. Bryce Hegarty,11. Tom English,12. Mitch Inman ,13. Tamati Ellison,14. Male Sau,15. Jason Woodward

Replacements : 16. Shota Horie,17. Max Lahiff,18. Paul Alo-Emilie,19. Hugh Pyle,20. Sean McMahon,21. Ben Meehan,22. Tom Kingston,23. Angus Roberts


1. Reggie Goodes , 2. Dane Coles , 3. Ben Franks , 4. Jeremy Thrush/Blade Thomson , 5. James Broadhurst , 6. Faifili Levave , 7. Ardie Savea , 8. Victor Vito , 9. TJ Perenara , 10. Beauden Barrett , 11. Julian Savea , 12. Alapati Leiua , 13. Conrad Smith (C) , 14. Cory Jane , 15. Andre Taylor

Replacements : 16. Motu Matu'u , 17. Chris Eves , 18. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen , 19. Blade Thomson/Brad Shields , 20. Jack Lam , 21. Billy Guyton , 22. Tim Bateman , 23. Matt Proctor

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news