Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Bonus point Chiefs extend Blues losing streak

Steven Luatua is shut down by the Chiefs defence

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 9 May 2014|

The Chiefs moved into second place in the Super Rugby standings when they beat the Blues 32-20 with a bonus point at Yarrow Stadium in New Plymouth Taranaki.

The loss extends the Blues away losing streak to 13 consecutive matches in Super Rugby as their last away win was in Round 1 last year.

The result is also the Chiefs sixth consecutive victory over the Blues.

The Chiefs outscored the Blues by four tries to two including two from prop Ben Tameifuna, as they endured a tight first half to assert control over their New Zealand rivals in the second.

The win puts the Chiefs on 35 points, level with thel Sharks, who are set to play the Brumbies in a tricky away match this weekend.

After a run of poor results, Chiefs captain Liam Messam said the result built on last week's win over the Lions and was a welcome confidence-booster as the team seeks a third straight Super Rugby title.

"It's been a pretty tough month for us when everyone doubted us, so I'm proud to see the boys bounce back," he said.

"It wasn't pretty, it was ugly and tough, but sometimes you want those ones."

The loss leaves the Blues stranded at the foot of the ultra-competitive New Zealand conference, making a finals berth increasingly unlikely.

It was their 14th straight away loss and extends the Chiefs' winning streak over the Aucklanders to six consecutive matches, dating back to mid-2011.

The Aucklanders showed early promise when Lolangi Visinia struck a blow six minutes in, juggling the ball before touching down after Ma'a Nonu set him up with a blockbusting run down the line.

Nonu, who had a role in three tries when Auckland demolished the Queensland Reds last week, then went from hero to villain when he missed a pass and gifted possession to the Chiefs, resulting in Tameifuna crashing over in the corner to level the scores.

With Blues fullback Charles Piutau forced off with a tendon injury, Tim Nanai-Williams made it two tries for the Chiefs as they worked the ball across the width of the park.

They exchanged two penalties apiece to make it 20-13 at half-time.

The Chiefs extended their lead immediately after the re-start, pouncing on a messy Blues lineout and getting the ball to Tameifuna for his second five-pointer.

They secured a bonus-point try and threatened to run away with the game when Nanai-Williams burst into open space and wrong-footed the Blues' defence, flicking a deft pass to Tom Marshall for the try.

The Chiefs, who have the worst disciplinary record in the competition, let the Blues back in when Nanai-Williams was sent to the sin bin, with the Aucklanders making the most of their advantage when George Moala crossed.

But the gap was too much for the Blues, and some determined Chiefs defence sealed the win.

Final Score Chiefs 32 (20) Blues 20 (13)


Tries - B.Tameifuna 2, T.Nanai-Williams, T.Marshall 
Pen - G.Anscombe 2
Con - G.Anscombe 3
Drop -
Cards - T.Nanai-Williams (64th min yellow)

Tries - L.Visinia, G.Moala
Pen - S.Hickey 2
Con - S.Hickey, I.West
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2: Shane McDermott
TMO: Glenn Newman


1. Pauliasi Manu ,2. Nathan Harris ,3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Michael Fitzgerald ,5. Brodie Retallick ,6. Tanerau Latimer ,7. Sam Cane ,8. Liam Messam (c) ,9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow ,10. Gareth Anscombe,11. James Lowe ,12. Bundee Aki ,13. Tim Nanai-Williams,14. Dwayne Sweeney ,15. Tom Marshall

Replacements : 16. Mahonri Schwalger ,17. Jamie Mackintosh ,18. Josh Hohneck ,19. Matt Symons ,20. Liam Squire ,21. Brad Weber ,22. Andrew Horrell ,23. Anton Lienert-Brown


15. Charles Piutau,14. Frank Halai,13. George Moala,12. Ma’a Nonu,11. Lolagi Visinia,10. Simon Hickey,9. Bryn Hall,8. Jerome Kaino,7. Brendon O’Connor,6. Steven Luatua,5. Tom Donnelly,4. Patrick Tuipulotu,3. Charlie Faumuina,2. Keven Mealamu (C),1. Tony Woodcock

Replacements : 16. James Parsons,17. Sam Prattley,18. Angus Ta’avao,19. Hayden Triggs,20. Kane Barrett,21. Piri Weepu,22. Ihaia West,23. Pita Ahki

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news