Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Brumbies beat Sharks in Canberra

Live Super Rugby Scoring!

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 9 May 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Brumbies and the Sharks the Durban based Sharks have won three and the Brumbies have won two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Sharks kick off and we are underway.

1.00: The Brumbies win the first penalty of the match after a break by Joe Tomane. They will kick for posts.

2.00: Christian Lealiifano takes the penalty kick and he nails it. The Brumbies lead.

4.00: Lots of fairly aimless kicking in this stage of the game as the teams test each other's defences.

5.00: Bismarck du Plessis makes a break but the Brumbies turn the ball over at the breakdown and work the ball upfield.

9.00: The game is being played in the middle of the field with still lots of kicking. Both sides are starting to run a little more. Nic White knocks on so the Sharks have a scrum inside the Brumbies half.

11.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Frans Steyn takes the kick but misses.

13.00: Another penalty to the Sharks. Steyn takes another shot and again sends it to the right.

14.00: Yet another penalty to the Sharks. Two of the three have been against Stephen Moore. Steyn bangs this one over.

17.00: Tevita Kuridrani goes down injured and has to come off for a concussion test. Joe Tomane also comes off but could be for blood. The Sharks are really upping the physicality. McCabe and Smith come on.

18.00: The Sharks concede penalty on the half way line so the Brumbies will have a shot at the posts.

19.00: Nic White misses the penalty.

21.00: Penalty against Du Plessis for pulling in. White kicks for touch.

22.00: Tevita Kuridrani comes back on for the Brumbies having passed his concussion test.

24.00: There is a break in play as we check for foul play. The penalty is against Jannie du Plessis for a shoulder charge. No card. The Brumbies kick for touch.

26.00: Penalty to the Brumbies in their half. They kick for touch.

28.00: Nic White misses a second kick for touch from a penalty.

29.00: The Sharks win a penalty for leaving the feet. Steyn will kick for posts.

30.00: Steyn slices the shot to the left.

32.00: The Sharks win a penalty and they kick for touch. Steyn misses and the ball rolls over the dead ball line. Scrum to the Brumbies in the Sharks half.

36.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. Lealiifano takes the kick from just inside the Sharks half and nails it. 

37.00: After the restart Steyn kicks the ball out on the full.

40.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. Lealiifano takes the kick but misses. It's half time.

The half time score was Brumbies 6  Sharks 3

The Brumbies kick off and the second half is underway. Joe Tomane is on his way to hospital with a suspected broken cheekbone.

22.00:The Sharks make a strong start to the second half. They work the ball into the Brumbies 22 and then drive to the Brumbies 5m line.

43.00: Penalty to the Sharks. They will kick for posts.

44.00: Steyn slots the kick and levels the scores.

46.00: Penalty to the Brumbies just outside the Sharks 22. Lealiifano will kick.

47.00: Lealiifano takes the kick and he nails it. Brumbies lead again.

48.00: Steyn kicks the ball out on the full again with the restart. Brumbies scrum on the half way line.

52.00: Penalty from the scrum to the Brumbies. Lealiifano takes the kick and he hits the post. No change in scores.

56.00: The Brumbies kick high and Ndungane goes for the ball but knocks it on. Brumbies scrum. The Brumbies then win a penalty from the scrum. They will kick for posts.

57.00: Lealiifano's kick hits the post. No change in the scores.

62.00: The Brumbies have the ball in the Sharks half. They go through 8 phases and then Pat McCabe breaks down the wing but he is caught. The Brumbies recycle but Bismarck du Plessis turns the ball over and the Sharks kick the ball out into touch.

63.00: The Brumbies win the line out. They get the ball into the centre of the field and White passes to Sam Carter who slips through the Sharks defence and races for the line to score. TRY!

64.00: Lealiifano slots the conversion and the Brumbies now lead by 10.

65.00: The Brumbies try to attack from deep but they knock on so we go back for a scrum. The Beast comes off.  

67.00: The Sharks up the attack and get into the Brumbies 22. They are just stopped and they knock on. Brumbies scrum.  11615 fans in attendance.

69.00: Pat McCabe tackles Mvovo in the air so the harks have a penalty. They kick for touch.

71.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Steyn takes the shot from in front and nails it.

74.00: The Sharks look dangerous as they snipe down the wing. They are however called back for a forward pass.

75.00: Penalty from the scrum to the Sharks. They kick for touch and the line out.

77.00: The Sharks set up a line out near the Brumbies 5m line. They win the line out and Bismarck du Plessis swipes at Sam Carter who was holding his jersey. A bust up breaks out between the teams. We go to the TMO to check.

78.00: The Brumbies have a scrum on their 5m line.

79.00: Brumbies win the scrum and Mogg clears the ball to the 22m line. The ball goes out about 15m out. The Sharks overthrow and the Brumbies get the ball and kick it out.

80.00: The siren sounds as the Sharks throw the ball in. They try to attack the Brumbies in their half. Deysel loses the ball and it goes into touch.

That's it. The Brumbies win.

The full time score is Brumbies 16 (6) Sharks 9 (3)


Tries - S.Carter
Pen - C. Lealiifano 3
Con - C.Lealiifano
Drop -
Cards -

Tries -
Pen - F.Steyn 3
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1: Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 2: James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub



1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Scott Fardy , 5. Sam Carter , 6. Fotu Auelua , 7. Jarrad Butler , 8. Ben Mowen (c) , 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Robbie Coleman , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Joe Tomane , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements , 16. Josh Mann-Rea , 17. Ruan Smith , 18. Ruaidhri Murphy , 19. Jordan Smiler , 20. Tom McVerry , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Andrew Smith , 23. Pat McCabe


15. Lwazi Mvovo , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. S'bura Sithole , 12. Paul Jordaan , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Frans Steyn , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Willem Alberts , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements :16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Charl McLeod , 22. Heimar Williams , 23. SP Marais

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news