Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Brumbies secure back to back wins over Sharks

Fotu Auelua of the Brumbies fends off a tackle from the Sharks

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 10 May 2014|

The Brumbies secured back to back victories over the Sharks when they beat former coach Jake White's Durban franchise 16-9 in Canberra.

The teams met in Durban last year when White was coach of the Brumbies and the visitor's won 29-10.

The Brumbies scored the only try of the match and the result is the first time that the Brumbies have kept the Sharks tryless in Canberra since the teams met in the 2001 Super 12 final.

The Brumbies victory keeps them on top of the Australian Super Rugby conference and in third place overall while the Sharks retained their place at the top of the overall standings but their loss has allowed the Chiefs and Brumbies to close within one and two points respectively.

Lock Sam Carter scored the sole try surging through a hole in the Sharks defence off a short pass from scrum-half Nic White in the 63rd minute.

The Durban team's chances were not helped by an off-night from their Springbok goalkicker Frans Steyn, who missed three penalty attempts and was astray with his general kicking.

White's return to Canberra added spice to the top-of-the-table showdown, after the former World Cup-winning Springbok coach quit the Brumbies halfway through a four-year contract after steering the Canberra-based side to last year's Super 15 final.

It was a triumph for former Wallaby fly-half and now coach Stephen Larkham, whose Brumbies side shaded the Sharks in a physical forwards-dominated contest with both teams obsessed with kicking for field position.

There was a total of 98 kicks in the stop-start match with very little ball in hand attacking movements.

While Steyn was having problems, finishing with three penalties from six attempts, Christian Lealiifano landed three penalties and a conversion from seven shots to keep the home side ahead in the second half.

Two of Lealiifano's penalty attempts hit the upright, but in the end it didn't prove costly for the Brumbies.

The Sharks took a losing bonus point out of the defeat to lead the competition by one point on 36 points from defending champions the Chiefs (35) and the Brumbies (34).

The Brumbies are likely to be without winger Joe Tomane for some weeks with a suspected fractured eye socket after a collision with a teammate in a tackle in the first half.

Super Rugby leaders the Sharks have now played 11 matches and lost three. Worryingly for the Sharks though they have played four matches away from home and lost two.

Next week the Sharks travel to Christchurch to face seven time champions the Crusaders while the Brumbies head to South Africa where they will face the last placed Cheetahs.

Final Score Brumbies 16 (6) Sharks 9 (3)


Tries - S.Carter
Pen - C. Lealiifano 3
Con - C.Lealiifano
Drop -
Cards -

Tries -
Pen - F.Steyn 3
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Glen Jackson
Assistant Ref 1: Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 2: James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub



1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore , 3. Ben Alexander , 4. Scott Fardy , 5. Sam Carter , 6. Fotu Auelua , 7. Jarrad Butler , 8. Ben Mowen (c) , 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Robbie Coleman , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Joe Tomane , 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements , 16. Josh Mann-Rea , 17. Ruan Smith , 18. Ruaidhri Murphy , 19. Jordan Smiler , 20. Tom McVerry , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Andrew Smith , 23. Pat McCabe


15. Lwazi Mvovo , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. S'bura Sithole , 12. Paul Jordaan , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Frans Steyn , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Willem Alberts , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (Captain) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements :16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Charl McLeod , 22. Heimar Williams , 23. SP Marais

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news