Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Waratahs beat Rebels in Melbourne

Super Rugby Live Scoring !

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 22 May 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Melbourne Rebels and the New South Wales Waratahs the Sydney side have won four and lost one.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Waratahs kick off and we are underway.

1.00: Early penalty to the Waratahs. Beale takes the kick but hits the posts.

2.00: The Rebels defence slips off and Bernard Foley almost gets through but is brought down 5m out and then he knocks on.

5.00: The Waratahs attack the Rebels in their 22. They send several waves of attack at the Rebels who concede a penalty. Foley lines up the kick and slots it. The Waratahs lead.

7.00: Penalty to the Rebels on the half way line. They kick for touch.

9.00: The Rebels try to attack but Alofa Alofa gets in the way of a pass and knocks on. The Waratahs then win a penalty so they kick for touch.

10.00: The Rebels win a line out. Rob Horne gets the ball on the inside pass and races for the line, he wrongfoots Jason Woodward and goes in to score. TRY!

11.00: Foley takes the conversion kick but misses.

13.00: Penalty to the Rebels for angling in at the scrum. Woodward will kick for posts.

14.00: Woodward lines up the shot and nails it.

16.00: The Rebels throw in at the line out is long and is taken by Nick Phipps who runs to the line but is stopped short. The Waratahs recycle and continue to attack the line.

18.00: The Rebels continue to hold the Waratahs out on their 5m line and they force the Tahs to knock on.

19.00: The Rebels win a scrum on their 5m line and they just manage to kick upfield. The ball goes to Israel Folau who runs at the Rebels.

20.00: Penalty to the Rebels inside their half. They kick for touch.

23.00: The Rebels win another penalty after the line out. Woodward takes the kick and slots it.

24.00: The Rebels attack down the wing but Beale goes for the intercept/connects with the ball and concedes the penalty. Woodward will kick for posts again.

26.00: Woodward slots the penalty and the Rebels lead.

28.00: Penalty for not joining the ruck correctly to the Waratahs. Foley will take the shot. He nails it and the Waratahs lead again.

31.00: Penalty to the Rebels on the half way line from the breakdown. Woodward will kick for posts again.

32.00: Woodward's kick is short so no change in the score.

35.00: Penalty on the half way line to the Waratahs. They kick for the corner and the line out. They win the line out and attack, they spread the ball wide and after several recycles Adam Ashley-Cooper scores. TRY!

37.00:Foley misses the conversion.

40.00: The hooter sounds for half time as the Waratahs are attacking. They work the ball from the half way line into the Rebels 22 and then they win a penalty - and Pat Leafa is yellow carded.

Foley lines up the kick and hits the upright - from in front. The ball bounces out and then after some play goes out.

It's half time.

The half time score was Rebels 9 Waratahs 16

The Rebels kick off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Rebels make a strong start to the second half. They work the ball up to the Waratahs line but then the ball slows and a scrum for the Waratahs is called.

44.00: The Rebels win a penalty from the scrum - they are still a man down - so Woodward will kick for posts.

45.00: Woodward takes the kick and slots it.

47.00: The Waratahs win a penalty inside the Rebels 22. Foley lines up the kick and nails it.

50.00: The Waratahs win a penalty from the scrum again on the half way line. Foley kicks for touch.

54.00: The Rebels have a scrum about 10m out. They put the ball in but then Michael Hooper pops up with the ball and races for the line and scores. TRY!

55.00: Foley takes the conversion kick but slices it. Will Skelton comes on for Jacques Potgieter.

58.00: The Waratahs are looking for the bonus point try. They work the ball into the Rebels 22 again, they go wide for Folau but the ball is lost and Telusa Veainu gets the ball and races down the line to score. TRY!

61.00: Woodward slots the conversion to cut the gap.

63.00: The Waratahs work the ball into the Rebels 22 from the half way line by going from side to side. Foley gets through at first but gets caught and then pops the ball up to Kurtley Beale who goes in to score the bonus point TRY! The TMO checks and the try is awarded.

66.00: Stephen Hoiles comes on for the Waratahs.

69.00: Penalty to the Waratahs from the scrum. They kick for touch and set up a line out on the half way line.

70.00: The Waratahs win the line out and break through the Rebels defence and Folau almost gets away, then Foley almost gets through. The Waratahs recycle and this time Folau slips off a tackle and scores. TRY!

71.00: Beale takes the conversion kick and slices it badly.

74.00: The Waratahs win a penalty in their half. They kick for touch.

77.00: The Waratahs continue to attack the Rebels. Folau almost gets over but is stopped. They recycle the ball and then Brendan McKibbin slips over for the sixth TRY!

78.00: Beale takes the conversion and this one he misses.

80.00: The siren and then the whistle goes for full time. That's it.

The full time score is Rebels 19 (9) Waratahs 41 (16)


Tries -T.Veainu
Pen - J.Woodward 4
Con - J.Woodward
Drop -
Cards - P. Leafa (41st minute yellow)

Tries - R.Horne, A.Ashley-Cooper, M Hooper, K,Beale, I.Folau, B. McKibbin
Pen - B.Foley 3
Con - B.Foley
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1: Matt O'Brien.
Assistant Ref 2: Graham Cooper
TMO: George Ayoub.



1. Toby Smith,2. Pat Leafa,3. Paul Alo-Emile,4. Cadeyrn Neville,5. Luke Jones,6. Colby Fainga'a,7. Scott Fuglistaller,8. Scott Higginbotham (C),9. Ben Meehan ,10. Bryce Hegarty,11. Tom Kingston,12. Mitch Inman ,13. Tom English,14. Telusa Veainu,15. Jason Woodward

Replacements : 16. Steve Fualau,17. Cruze Ah-Nau,18. Max Lahiff,19. Hugh Pyle,20. Sean McMahon,21. Josh Holmes ,22. Jack Debreczeni,23. Lalakai Foketi


1. Benn Robinson , 2.Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Paddy Ryan , 4. Jacques Potgieter , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Dave Dennis (c), 7. Michael Hooper , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper 14. Alofa Alofa , 15 Israel Folau .

Replacements : 16. Hugh Roach , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Sekope Kepu , 19. Will Skelton , 20. Stephen Hoiles, 21. Brendan McKibbin , 22. Jono Lance , 23. Matt Carraro

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news