Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Western Force beat Lions in Perth

Live Super Rugby score update

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 23 May 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Perth based Western Force and and the Johannesburg based Lions the Force have won all five.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Force kick off and we are underway.

2.00: It's wet and rainy. The Force win the first penalty. Sias Ebersohn takes the kick and nails it. The Force lead.

4.00: The Lions win a penalty back so Marnitz Boshoff takes the kick and it hits the posts and goes in off. The scores are level.

7.00: The Force's front row gets a verbal warning from referee Steve Walsh.The scrum has to be reset a couple of times.

10.00: The Force win a scrum. They run the ball but it gets messy when  they get wide and the ball goes out.

11.00: The Lions win the line out and run the ball. The Force however turn the ball over and run at the Lions. The Force win a penalty and the Lions get a warning for being offside.

12.00: Ebersohn takes the penalty kick but misses.

17.00: The Lions build up their attack in the Force's half. They get into the Force's 22 and they win a penalty. Boshoff will kick.

18.00: Boshoff takes the kick and nails it. The Lions lead.

21.00: The Force kick and Nick Cummins chases but the Lions get back to secure the ball.

27.00:Penalty to the Lions. Boshoff lines up the kick and nails it again.

32.00: The Force build their attack in the Lions half. They go wide to Cummins who gets them into the Lions 22. The ball slows and the Force get the put in for the scrum.

34.00:The Force win the scrum and send wave after wave of attack at the Lions tryline. The whistle goes for a penalty and then the game is paused as Nathan Charles has suffered a head knock and looks to be out. There is a yellow card for a shoulder charge on recommendation from the TMO for Corne Fourie. The Force choose the scrum.

35.00: The Force win the scrum and they drive for the line. Matt Hodgson snipes down the side of the pack and scores. TRY!

36.00: Ebersohn slots the conversion.

37.00: The Force have really upped the attack. Cummins slips through and makes huge ground for the Force. Ebersohn comes up in support and goes over the line. There are bodies everywhere so we go to the TMO to check if he grounded it. Held up. 5m scrum.

38.00: The Force win the scrum. McCalman goes for the line but he is shot. The Force recycle and go wide and this time Jayden Hayward slips over and scores. TRY!

39.00: Ebersohn takes the conversion from outwide and slices it. It's a horror.

It's half time.

The  half time score was Force 15 Lions 9

The Lions kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: The Force make a solid start going through 10 phases make small amounts of ground each time.

43.00: Ebersohn kicks the ball upfield as he sees they have the advantage. The Force get a penalty so Ebersohn kicks for touch.

44.00: The Force win the line out and the forwards drive for the line. They are stopped at the line so they change sides and Nick Cummins goes over in the corner. We go to the TMO to check. No try. The Lions are back to 15.

46.00: The Force attack all over again but this time the Lions get the put in on their 22 when the ball goes dead.

50.00: The game is largely being played in the Lions half. The Force are probing the Lions defence from all sides.

52.00: The Force get the ball to the Lions 5m line. They do all of the work and then the Lions turn the ball over and kick it out.

54.00: The Force get a penalty so they kick for touch. The Force set up the maul and drive for the line. The Lions stop it and the Force go to the backs.

55.00: The Force attack the Lions tryline again and Hodgson gets close but there is a knock on. 5m scrum.

58.00: The Force win the scrum and send waves of attack at the Lions who defend them all and the Lions turn the ball over and kick the ball out.

60.00:The Force continue to bash away at the Lions wall of defence.

62.00: The Lions turn the ball over and they get the ball upfield. The Lions win a line out and get into the Force's 22 but then the Force turn the ball over and kick it deep.

63.00: Penalty to the Lions in front of the posts. The Lions should get points now after being down in the Lions 22 for two minutes. Boshoff slots the kick.

70.00: The Lions try to run the ball out of their 22. The Force however turn the ball over and run at the line until there is a knock on.

73.00: The Force go for the line again and Zack Holmes is tackled short but he dots the ball down on the line. We go to the TMO who says it is held up. No try. The Force win the scrum and they send the ball to Chris Tuatara-Morrison who crashes through two tackles and scores. TRY!

74.00: The conversion is added.

76.00: The Lions immediately hit back. They get the ball into the Force's 22 and Elton Jantjies goes to score as he carries three players over the line but he loses the ball in the process of dotting the ball down. No try.

77.00: The Force try to clear the ball at the back of the scrum inside their try area. Cummins makes an awful clearance kick and this time Jantjies gets the ball and scores. TRY!

The try is converted.

78.00: The Force strike back by getting the ball up to the LIons 5m line. Hodgson goes for the line and reaches and scores. TRY Bonus point.

79..00: Hayward slots the conversion.

80.00: The siren sounds for full time. It is full time.

The full time score is Force 29 (15) Lions 19 (9)


Tries - M.Hodgson 2, J.Hayward, C.Tuatara-Morrison
Pen - S.Ebersohn
Con - S.Ebersohn 2 , J,Hayward
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - E.Jantjies
Pen - M.Boshoff 4
Con - Boshoff
Drop -
Cards - C.Fourie (34th min yellow)

Match Officials
: Steve Walsh
Assistant Ref 1: James Leckie.
Assistant Ref 2: Ian Smith
TMO: Peter Marshall.


Western Force

1. Pek Cowan,2. Nathan Charles,3. Kieran Longbottom,4. Sam Wykes,5. Wilhelm Steenkamp,6. Angus Cottrell,7. Matt Hodgson (c),8. Ben McCalman,9. Ian Prior,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Nick Cummins ,12. Luke Burton,13. Chris Tuatara-Morrison,14. Dane Haylett-Petty,15. Jayden Hayward

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner ,18. Ollie Hoskins,19. Adam Coleman ,20. Brynard Stander,21. Justin Turner,22. Zack Holmes ,23. Patrick Dellit


15. Coenie van Wyk ,14. JW Jonker ,13. Deon van Rensburg,12. Alwyn Hollenbach,11. Anthony Volmink ,10. Marnitz Boshoff,9. Ross Cronje ,8. Warren Whiteley (c),7. Warwick Tecklenburg ,6. Jaco Kriel,5. Franco Mostert ,4. Rudi Mathee,3. Ruan Dreyer,2. Armand van der Merwe,1. Corne Fourie

Replacements : 16. Robbie Coetzee,17. Jacques van Rooyen,18. Julian Redelinghuys,19. Willie Britz ,20. Stephan de Wit,21. Faf de Klerk,22. Elton Jantjies,23. Stefan Watermeyer

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news