Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Bonus point Stormers keep Cheetahs pointless

Kurt Coleman makes a break for the Stormers against the Cheetahs

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 24 May 2014|

The Stormers won their fifth Super Rugby match of the 2014 season when they beat the Cheetahs 33-0 at Newlands Stadium in Cape Town.

The Stormers scored two tries in each half of the contest whilst also keeping the Cheetahs tryless. Earlier this season the Cheetahs beat the Stormers 35-22 in Bloemfontein.

The loss for the Cheetahs who reached the play offs last year is their 10th this season from 14 matches. Their record now stands at three wins one draw and a 10 losses.

The result moved the Stormers above the Cheetahs and into third place in the South African Conference and into 11th place overall.

The Stormers were forced into several pre-match changes when their captain Jean de Villiers and Brok Harris were declared unfit to play.

New Springbok training squad member Damian de Allende was moved from right wing to inside centre to fill in for De Villiers, and flank Schalk Burger took over the captaincy.

Kobus van Wyk came off the bench to take De Allende's place, and Samoan-born Sailosi Tagicakibau was named as a substitute.

On the bench, Harris was replaced by loosehead prop Martin Dreyer.

A sixth-minute driving maul from a line-out five metres away from the Cheetahs tryline was rounded off by hooker Deon Fourie diving over for the first try of the match.

Flyhalf Kurt Coleman's conversion attempt was short - it hovered in the air, as the wind held it up.

Cheetahs Skipper Adriaan Strauss was yellow-carded in the 21st minute for a dangerous tackle on Van Wyk. Reserve hooker Torsten van Jaarsveld joined the fray and eighthman Boom Prinsloo was sacrificed to ensure the Cheetahs were restricted to 14 players at the time.

Coleman opened up an 8-0 lead with a 35m penalty in the 29th minute.

The hosts sprung an adventurous 34th minute move from their own 22 and with backs and forwards linking superbly in an upfield surge, Van Wyk ended off by running through the Cheetahs defence to score his side's second try.

This time Coleman goaled the conversion.

At the start of the second half, Siya Kolisi replaced Burger who seemed to be troubled by a knock to his neck, early in the match. In the backline, first-half try-scorer Van Wyk made way for Tagicakibau.

Coleman added a penalty in the 51st minute as the Stormers took an 18-0 lead.

Just on the hour mark, substitute Peter Grant, who had barely been on the field for a minute goaled a penalty.

In the 69th minute, the Stormers' pressure took its toll and Kolisi romped in for a converted try.

The home side secured the bonus point three minutes from time, as Tagicakibau scored his first try in a Stormers jersey.

Grant's conversion attempt failed, but it did not matter as the home side claimed a resounding victory.

Final Score Stormers 33 (15) Cheetahs 0 (0)


Tries - D.Fourie, K. van Wyk, S.Kolisi,S. Tagicakibau 
Pen - K.Coleman 2. P.Grant
Con - K.Coleman, P.Grant
Drop -
Cards - M.Rhodes (73rd min yellow)

Tries -
Pen -
Con -
Drop -
Cards - A.Strauss (21st min yellow)

Match Officials
Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Marius van der Westhuizen.
Assistant Ref 2: Quinton Immelman
TMO: Deon van Blommenstein.



15. Jaco Taute , 14. Kobus van Wyk  , 13. Juan de Jongh , 12. Damian de Allende  , 11. Cheslin Kolbe , 10. Kurt Coleman , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen , 7. Schalk Burger (captain) , 6. Nizaam Carr , 5. Ruan Botha , 4. Michael Rhodes , 3. Pat Cilliers , 2. Deon Fourie , 1. Alistair Vermaak (Super Rugby starting debut for the Stormers)

Replacements: , 16. Stephan Coetzee , 17. Oli Kebble , 18. Brok Harris , 19. Jean Kleyn , 20. Siya Kolisi , 21. Dylon Frylinck (On Super Rugby debut for the Stormers) , 22. Peter Grant , 23. Sailosi Tagicakibau 


Hennie Daniller, Cornal Hendricks, Johann Sadie, Rayno Benjamin, Willie le Roux (VC), Johan Goosen, Shaun Venter, Boom Prinsloo, Teboho Mohoje, Heinrich Brussow, Francois Uys, Willem Serfontein, Coenie Oosthuizen, Adriaan Strauss (c), Caylib Oosthuizen.

Replacements: Torsten van Jaarsveld, Trevor Nyakane, Maks van Dyk, Hilton Lobberts, Carel Greeff, Tian Meyer, Elgar Watts, Gouws Prinsloo.

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news