Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Cruden starts for Chiefs against Waratahs

After coming off the bench last week Aaron Cruden starts for the Chiefs this week

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 29 May 2014|

The Chiefs have named Aaron Cruden in their starting line up to play Australian Conference leaders the Waratahs at Yarrow Stadium in Taranaki on Saturday.

The changes to the Chiefs team, begins in the forwards with Jamie Mackintosh starting at prop and Matt Symons at lock.

Liam Messam reclaims his No 6 jersey, while Liam Squire starts at No 8.

Aaron Cruden starts the match at first five-eighth, Andrew Horrell comes in at second five-eighth and Tim Nanai-Williams moves to centre.

Pauliasi Manu, Mike Fitzgerald, Tanerau Latimer, Gareth Anscombe and Bundee Aki all move to the reserves.

After a disappointing show against the Hurricanes last weekend, Chiefs coach Dave Rennie said, "With only two points separating the top four teams in the New Zealand Conference, every game is vital and this stems as season defining."

Taranaki turned on great support for the Chiefs in their last encounter at Yarrow Stadium which saw them beat the Blues and Rennie and his men are looking forward to another game there.

"Again, we bring a high quality opponent to New Plymouth. The Waratahs have been impressive and lead the Australian Conference. "

"They have a huge pack and a backline full of game breakers. Both teams play a positive brand of footy so it should be a hell of a contest," said Rennie.


1. Jamie Mackintosh,2. Nathan Harris ,3. Ben Tameifuna ,4. Matt Symons ,5. Brodie Retallick ,6. Liam Messam ,7. Sam Cane ,8. Liam Squire ,9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow ,10. Aaron Cruden (c),11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma,12. Andrew Horrell ,13. Tim Nanai-Williams,14. Dwayne Sweeney ,15. Tom Marshall

Replacements : 16. Mahonri Schwalger ,17. Pauliasi Manu,18. Josh Hohneck ,19. Michael Fitzgerald ,20. Tanerau Latimer ,21. Brad Weber ,22. Gareth Anscombe,23. Bundee Aki

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news