Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Brumbies beat Rebels in Canberra

Live Super Rugby score update

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 30 May 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Canberra based Brumbies and the Melbourne based Rebels the Canberra side have won four and lost once.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Brumbies kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Brumbies make a strong start to the match by attacking the Rebels in their 22.

3.00: The Brumbies go through 11 phases and Tevita Kuridrani almost gets over. The Brumbies recycle and this time Matt Toomua goes for the line reaches and scores. TRY!

4.00: Christian Lealiifano misses the conversion. At the restart Jason Woodward kicks the ball out on the full.

5.00: The Rebels win a penalty from the scrum and they will kick for posts.

6.00: Woodward lines up the kick and nails it to become the Rebels leading point scorer of all time.

9.00: The Rebels win a line out but when they kick it gets charged down. The Rebels get another line out.

10.00: The Rebels knock on at the line out so the Brumbies have a scrum.

12.00: The Brumbies rumble the ball up to and then over the Rebels 5m line. They go for the line and get caught but in the tackle Clyde Rathbone passes to Pat McCabe who dives over and scores. TRY!

13.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion.

15.00: The Brumbies stretch the Rebels outwide and Matt Toomua gets the ball at pace after a Nic White break and he scores his second TRY!

16.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion kick and misses again.

19.00: The Rebels try to attack down the wing but they get pushed into touch.

21.00: The Rebels go through 8 phases on attack in the Brumbies 22. They get driven back out of the 22 and then the Brumbies turn the ball over and kick the ball out.

23.00: The Brumbies win a penalty for angling in. They kick for touch and the line out.

27.00: The Rebels are keeping the Brumbies back in their half through kicks and attacking runs.

29.00: The Brumbies win a line out and go through the phases gradually pressing the Rebels back. They go for the line trying to punch through and they go over the line, get held up but recycle and Scott Sio goes over for the bonus point TRY!

31.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion kick and pushes it wide again.

34.00:Penalty to the Rebels for being offside in front of the kicker on the half way line. The Rebels kick for touch.

35.00: The Rebels win the line out but then the Brumbies turn the ball over and kick well upfield.

37.00: Penalty to the Brumbies in front. Lealiifano takes the kick and nails it.

39.00: The Rebels set up a line out 10m out from the Brumbies line. They win the line out and get to about 8m out.

40.00: The siren sounds as the Rebels continue the attack. They go through 10 phases and the Brumbies go offside so the Rebels win a penalty.

41.00: The Rebels run the ball, they get to about 3m out but are stopped. The Brumbies turn the ball over and kick it out.

It's half time.

The half time score is Brumbies 25 Rebels 3

The Rebels kick off and we are underway with the second half.

40.53:There is a break in play as a Rebels player gets some help from the medics.

42.00: The game resumes with a scrum. Nic White makes but the Rebels stop him. The Brumbies recycle and this time Sam Carter scores. TRY!

43.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion kick and nails it.

48.00: The Brumbies are doing most of the playing in the Rebels half.

49.00: The Rebels concede a penalty for slowing the ball down. The Brumbies choose the scrum. Ben Mowen comes off with a heavy knock on his eye.

51.00: The Brumbies are struggling to get through the Rebels defence so they try a kick through but the dead ball line wins.

55.00: Penalty to the Brumbies from the scrum. They kick for touch as Clyde Rathbone comes off and Jesse Mogg comes on.

60.00; The Rebels win a penalty. They kick for touch. The Rebels line out goes to back and the Brumbies get the ball. However the Rebels turn the ball over and run the ball up to the 5m line.

61.00: The Rebels kick for the corner but the Brumbies get back and take the ball over the tryline. 5m scrum.

64.00: The Brumbies get a warning for collapsing the scrum which has to be reset several times.

66.00: The Rebels put the ball in and they hold the Brumbies. The scrum moves to the right and has to be reset again.

67.00: Penalty (the third one) to the Rebels from the scrum. Ben Alexander is yellow carded. We have another scrum.

68.00: The Rebels win the scrum and they go for the line,  Josh Holmes dives for the line but Ruan Smith catches him in the air and pushes him back. The rebels recycle and this time Scott Higginbotham scores. TRY!

69.00: Woodward adds the conversion.

71.00: Bryce Hegarty sells a dummy pass and slips through a gap, he races away for the line but passes to Jack Debreczeni who loses the ball forward according to the TMO as he put the ball down in the corner. No Try.

74.00: The Brumbies win a line out in their half. They work the ball into the Rebels half and then they win a penalty. Lealiffcano kicks for touch.

76.00: The Brumbies win the line out and Scott Higginbotham stops Pat McCabe from going over to score.  

79.00: The Brumbies continue to attack and this time Leon Power goes over in the corner. TRY!

80.00: Lealiffano misses the conversion and that is it.

Brumbies win.

The full time score is Brumbies 37 (25) Rebels 10 (3)


Tries - M.Toomua 2 , P.McCabe, S.Sio, S.Carter, L.Power
Pen - C.Lealiifano
Con - C.Lealiifano 2
Drop -
Cards - B.Alexander (67th min yellow)

Tries - S.Higginbotham
Pen - J.Woodward
Con - J.Woodward
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Steve Walsh
Assistant Ref 1: James Leckie
Assistant Ref 2: Will Houston
TMO: Peter Marshall



1. Scott Sio, 2. Stephen Moore, 3. Ruan Smith , 4. Scott Fardy, 5. Sam Carter , 6. Fotu Auelua, 7. Jarrad Butler, 8. Ben Mowen (c), 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua, 11. Clyde Rathbone, 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Henry Speight, 15. Pat McCabe

Replacements : 16. Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Ben Alexander, 18. JP Smith, 19. Leon Power , 20. Jordan Smiler , 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Andrew Smith, 23. Jesse Mogg


1. Toby Smith,2. Pat Leafa,3. Laurie Weeks,4. Cadeyrn Neville,5. Luke Jones,6. Colby Fainga'a,7. Scott Fuglistaller,8. Scott Higginbotham (C),9. Ben Meehan,10. Bryce Hegarty,11. Tom English,12. Mitch Inman ,13. Tamati Ellison,14. Male Sau,15. Jason Woodward

Replacements : 16. Shota Horie,17. Cruze Ah-Nau,18. Paul Alo-Emile,19. Hugh Pyle,20. Jordy Reid,21. Josh Holmes ,22. Jack Debreczeni,23. Tom Kingston

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news