Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Waratahs beat Brumbies to book home final

Jarrad Butler of the Brumbies is double tackled by the Waratahs

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 26 July 2014|

The Waratahs booked a home Super Rugby final against the Crusaders in Sydney by beating the Brumbies 26-8 at Allianz Stadium on Saturday.

The Waratahs finished the regular season above the second placed Crusaders so the Sydney side host the 2014 Super Rugby final at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

The Crusaders qualified for the Super Rugby final by beating South Africa's Sharks 38-6 in Christchurch.

Although the Waratahs have met the Crusaders twice already in Super Rugby finals they have never hosted a final and they have yet to win a Super Rugby title.

The Crusaders won two of their seven Super Rugby titles by beating the Waratahs in the 2005 and 2008 finals.

Ironically the Waratahs and Crusaders have yet to play each other in 2014 due to the draw so next week will be their first meeting since May 2013.

The Waratahs outscored last year's finalists the Brumbies by three tries to one in the match but it was the home side's defence that won the day for them.

The Sydney side opened the scoring in the third minute when winger Alofa Alofa scored a try when he intercepted a pass as the Brumbies were building their attack.

The Brumbies got onto the scoreboard in the 30th minute when Henry Speight scored in the corner and although Christian Lealiifano missed the conversion he levelled the scores six minutes later.

The first half was a tight affair and the teams looked to set to go in for half time at 8 all but Bernard Foley kicked a late penalty to put the Waratahs into a three point lead at half time.

Kurtley Beale got the scoreboard ticking again in the second half when he ripped the ball off Brumbies fullback Jesse Mogg and ran in the Waratahs second try after 48 minutes.

Alofa and Beale's tries both showed the Waratahs attacking instinct and how they can score from anywhere on the field.

The Waratahs were however more impressive in defence as the Brumbies threw everything they had at the Waratahs for long passages of play only to be sent back to the half way line without earning any further points.

While the Waratahs staunch defence frustrated the Brumbies it brought rewards for the hosts. Five minutes from time Brumbies winger Joe Tomane was hot on attack with Tevita Kuridrani.

The Waratahs stopped Tomane who tried to keep the ball alive threw a wild pass which went to Waratahs prop Benn Robinson who started an attack that included a busting 20m by Will Skelton and bursts from Israel Folau and Rob Horne and ended with flyhalf Bernard Foley racing 25m and beating Pat McCabe and Robbie Coleman to the line and scored.

Foley added the conversion to take his points tally to 16 of the Waratahs 26 points. The victory takes the Waratahs to nine consecutive matches unbeaten at home and 8 matches at home or away.

The Waratahs will now host the Super Rugby final next week against the Crusaders who they have lost their last 11 matches to.

Final Score Waratahs 26 (11) Brumbies 8 (8)


Tries - A.Alofa, K.Beale, B.Foley
Pen - B.Foley 3
Con - B.Foley
Drop -
Cards - T. Naiyaravoro (79th min yellow)

Tries - H.Speight
Pen - C.Lealiifano
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Jaco Peyper
AR1: Craig Joubert
AR2: James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub



Israel Folau, Alofa Alofa, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Rob Horne, Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps, Wycliff Palu, Michael Hooper, Stephen Hoiles, Kane Douglas, Jacques Potgieter, Sekope Kepu, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Benn Robinson.

Replacements :16. Tolu Latu , 17. Paddy Ryan , 18. Jeremy Tilse , 19. Will Skelton , 20. Mitchell Chapman , 21. Pat McCutcheon , 22. Brendan McKibbin , 23. Taqele Naiyaravoro.


1. Scott Sio, 2. Josh Mann-Rea, 3. Ben Alexander, 4. Leon Power, 5. Sam Carter , 6. Scott Fardy, 7. Jarrad Butler, 8. Ben Mowen (c), 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Robbie Coleman, 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Henry Speight, 15. Jesse Mogg

Replacements, 16. Ruaidhri Murphy, 17. Ruan Smith , 18. Allan Alaalatoa, 19. Fotu Auelua , 20. Tom McVerry , 21. Michael Dowsett, 22. Joe Tomane, 23. Pat McCabe

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news