Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Waratahs v Crusaders Super Rugby Final Preview

Michael Hooper will lead the Waratahs in their first home Super rugby final

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 31 July 2014|

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Waratahs and the Crusaders the Christchurch based Crusaders have won all five.

The Crusaders have not only won the last five matches as the last 11 matches have all been won by the Crusaders including the 2005 and the 2008 Super Rugby finals.

In both of those Super Rugby finals the Crusaders had home advantage as the matches were played in Christchurch.

It could be a case of third time lucky for the Waratahs as this will be their third final but their first at home. We say at home but it won't be played at the Waratahs traditional home as they have chosen to move the final from the Sydney Football Stadium to the ANZ Stadium in Olympic Park.

At the Sydney Football Stadium this year the Waratahs have gone unbeaten so by moving the match to a different venue will have the effect of diluting their home advantage a little.

Overall the Waratahs have played the Crusaders 20 times in Super Rugby since 1996 and the Waratahs have won just four matches. That gives them a record of winning 20% of their matches against the Crusaders.

The average score when the Waratahs play the Crusaders is : Waratahs 21 Crusaders 30.

This week the match will be played in Sydney where the teams have met 8 times since 1997 and the Waratahs have won 3 matches and lost five matches.

That gives the Waratahs a record of winning 38% of their home matches against the Crusaders at home. The average score when the Waratahs play the Crusaders is Waratahs 27 Crusaders 28.

In Super Rugby finals the Waratahs have played the Crusaders twice and the Crusaders have won both. The average score when the Waratahs play the Crusaders is Waratahs 19 Crusaders 28.

Both teams have retained the teams that won their semi-finals so they are unchanged this week.

In terms of form the Waratahs have won their last eight Super Rugby matches and in 2014 they are unbeaten at home.

The Crusaders have won their last three matches. They have played 9 matches at home and won 67% of them or 6 matches. The Crusaders have played 8 matches away from home and won 6 or 75% of their away matches.

Ordinarily home advantage is crucial in Super Rugby but this year the Crusaders have performed better away from home. Couple this with the Waratahs moving their match to their non-traditional home venue and you have a recipe for an upset.

The Bookies have given the Waratahs a 2 point start for this Match - with an offer of a FREE $250.00 Bet. The Waratahs have a pretty shocking history against the Crusaders which cannot be ignored. The 2014 Waratahs have been a revelation and have broken countless records. They are clearly a different side to the Waratahs of old and while they impressed last week they don't have a wealth of experience in finals like the Crusaders do. The Crusaders should edge this by 1.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 1HD.

Average score: Waratahs 21 Crusaders 30

Last five results
31 May 2013 Waratahs v Crusaders 22-23 Christchurch
29 Apr 2012 Waratahs v Crusaders 33-37 Sydney
04 Mar 2011 Waratahs v Crusaders 18-33 Nelson
10 Apr 2010 Waratahs v Crusaders 13-20 Christchurch
21 Mar 2009 Waratahs v Crusaders 13-17 Sydney
31 May 2008 Final Waratahs v Crusaders 12-20 Christchurch
21 Mar 2008 Waratahs v Crusaders 7-34 Christchurch
31 Mar 2007 Waratahs v Crusaders 33-34 Sydney
07 Apr 2006 Waratahs v Crusaders 11-17 Christchurch
28 May 2005 Final Waratahs v Crusaders 25-35 Christchurch

Waratahs overall record against the Crusaders
Played 20 , Wins 4, Losses 16, Draws 0

Date : Saturday 2 August 2014
Match : Waratahs v Crusaders - 2014 Super Rugby Grand Final
Venue : ANZ Stadium, Sydney, Australia
Kick-off (19:40 local, 21:40 NZT, 11:40 SAST, 09:40 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert
AR 1: Steve Walsh
AR 2: James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub



1. Benn Robinson , 2.Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Jacques Potgieter , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Stephen Hoiles , 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Israel Folau .

Replacements (two to be omitted): 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Paddy Ryan , 19. Will Skelton , 20. Mitchell Chapman , 21. Pat McCutcheon , 22. Brendan McKibbin , 23. Taqele Naiyaravoro 24. Matt Carraro , 25. Peter Betham


1. Wyatt Crockett ,2. Corey Flynn, 3. Owen Franks ,4. Dominic Bird ,5. Samuel Whitelock 6. Richie McCaw ,7. Matt Todd ,8. Kieran Read (C), 9. Andy Ellis ,10. Colin Slade ,11. Nemani Nadolo ,12. Dan Carter ,13. Ryan Crotty (VC) ,14. Kieron Fonotia ,15. Israel Dagg

Replacements : 16. Ben Funnell ,17. Joe Moody ,18. Nepo Laulala ,19. Jimmy Tupou ,20. Jordan Taufua ,21. Willi Heinz ,22. Tom Taylor ,23. Johnny McNicholl

2008 Super 14 Final Highlights

Super XV on Facebook

Super XV Rugby Team news