Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----


Australia halt All Black winning streak with a draw

Kurtley Beale gets swamped by the All Black defence

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 16 August 2014|

Australia's Wallabies brought an end to the New Zealand All Blacks 17 match winning streak by holding them to a 12-all draw in their Rugby Championship Bledisloe Cup opening Test at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on Saturday.

An All Blacks victory would have been their 18th consecutive victory which would have been the longest winning streak for any major Test playing nation - the record had been set at 17 consecutive wins by the 1965-69 All Blacks and 1997-98 Springboks.

The All Blacks winning streak started against France last year at home in June and their only defeat since they won the Rugby World Cup in 2011 remains their 2012 loss to England at Twickenham.

The result ended a seven match winning streak for the Wallabies which started on tour at the end of last year but they remain unbeaten.  

The result is the second draw between Australia and New Zealand in the last two years as they also drew 18-all in Brisbane in 2012.

All of the points in the match came from penalty kicks as Wallabies fly half Kurtley Beale and All Blacks counterpart Aaron Cruden each kicked four penalties.

The All Blacks made a better start in the contest and opened the scoring with a penalty kick by Aaron Cruden in the fourth minute.

Australia's Kurtley Beale leveled the scores at 3-all in the eleventh minute and this first half penalty proved to be the Wallabies only points in the opening half.

Aaron Cruden added two further penalties before the break allowing the All Blacks to lead 3-9 at half time.

Wallabies captain Michael Hooper turned down a number of kickable penalties shortly before the break as Wyatt Crockett had been sin binned and the Australian skipper had hoped that they could turn their extra man advantage into points.

The Wallabies launched several attacks at the All Black line but they were unable to breach the All Black defence. The Wallabies were awarded a penalty after the siren and this time Kurtley Beale attempted to kick the penalty but he hit the posts.

The ball bounced back to the Wallabies after hitting the posts and they attacked the All Black line but the world champions defence was again impenetrable and they pushed the Wallabies into touch to end the half.

Two early Beale penalties in the second half allowed the Wallabies to draw level on the scoreboard 15 minutes into the second half.

The stalemate only lasted three minutes though as Cruden kicked his fourth penalty to put the All Blacks back into the lead.

The Wallabies showed more on attack than the All Blacks who relied on impressive defence. The Wallabies came close to scoring on several occasions and looked the more dangerous side but the Kiwis remained calm and sucked up the waves of Wallaby attacks like a sponge.

With just over 10 minutes to play Beale kicked his fourth penalty which ended the scoring although the Wallabies finished strongly by going through several phases on attack searching for a penalty in All Black territory.

However clock ticked over the 80 minute mark and it was the All Blacks who were awarded the penalty and instead of settling for the draw they chose to run the ball but a knock on ended the contest.

The teams meet again next week in Auckland where the All Blacks have not lost to Australia in their last 14 matches as the last time the Wallabies beat New Zealand at Eden Park was in 1986.

Final Score Australia 12 (3) New Zealand 12 (9)


Tries -
Pen - K.Beale 4
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

New Zealand
Tries -
Pen - A.Cruden 4
Con -
Drop -
Cards - W.Crockett (38th min yellow), B.Barrett (69th min yellow)

Match Officials
: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Romaine Poite
Assistant Ref 2:Stuart Berry
TMO : Shaun Veldsman



1. James Slipper (vc) , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Sam Carter , 5. Rob Simmons , 6. Scott Fardy , 7. Michael Hooper (c) , 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nic White , 10. Kurtley Beale , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Matt Toomua , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper (vc) , 14. Pat McCabe , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements : James Hanson , Pek Cowan , Ben Alexander , Will Skelton , Ben McCalman , Scott Higginbotham , Nick Phipps , Bernard Foley , Tevita Kuridrani

*one player to be omitted

New Zealand

1. Wyatt Crockett 2. Dane Coles 3. Owen Franks 4. Brodie Retallick 5. Samuel Whitelock 6. Jerome Kaino 7. Richie McCaw (c) 8. Kieran Read 9. Aaron Smith 10. Aaron Cruden 11. Julian Savea 12. Ma'a Nonu 13. Malakai Fekitoa 14. Cory Jane 15. Ben Smith

Replacements : 16. Keven Mealamu 17. Ben Franks 18. Joe Moody 19. Steven Luatua 20. Sam Cane 21. TJ Perenara 22.. Beauden Barrett 23.Ryan Crotty

Super XV Rugby Advertising.

Rugby Championship video