Super Rugby

Ban rules Lavanini out until Super Rugby Round 4

on

Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Argentina’s Super Rugby franchise the Jaguares will play the Sharks in Durban this weekend without Tomas Lavanini as he has been suspended for one week for Dangerous charging

A SANZAAR Duty Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC accepted a guilty plea from Tomas Lavanini of the Jaguares for contravening Law 10.4 (g) Dangerous charging, after he was cited following a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

Lavanini has been suspended from all forms of the game for one week up to and including Saturday 5 March 2016 which rules him out of this week’s match against the Sharks in Durban.

The Jaguares have a bye in Round 3 so Lavanini will only be available to return for the Round 4 match against the Chiefs in Buenos Aires on the 19th of March.

The incident occurred in the 25th minute of the Super Rugby match between the Cheetahs and Jaguares in Bloemfontein on 26 February 2016.

SANZAAR Duty Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC assessed the case.

In his finding, Mr Hampton ruled the following, “After initially reviewing the video footage, Citing Commissioner’s report and other relevant materials, I heard from the player and his representatives, including his counsel Stephan Weyers. The player accepted a breach of the dangerous charging law and identified the various factors involved in the incident.

“I considered the incident and the submissions made by counsel and formed the view that the charge, appropriately, should be amended to 10.4 (g) Dangerous Charging. I found the offence to have an entry point in the low end range which starts at a two-week suspension.

“I did not consider there to be any aggravating factors to take into account. I did take the player admitting guilt for the offence into account as a mitigating factor. This entitles the player up to a 50 per cent reduction in sanction which I applied. This results in a one week suspension being imposed on the player.

“The player is accordingly found to have contravened Law 10.4 (g) and is suspended for one week up to and including Saturday 5 March 2016.”

Duty Judicial Officer: Nigel Hampton QC
Player: Tomas Lavanini
Team: Jaguares
Position: Lock
Date of Incident: 26 February 2016
Nature of Offence: 10.4 (a) Punching or striking, A player must not strike an opponent with the fist or arm, including the elbow, shoulder, head or knee(s).
Offence amended to: 10.4 (g) Dangerous charging. A player must not charge or knock down an opponent carrying the ball without trying to grasp that player.
Elapsed time in match when incident occurred: 25th minute

Recommended for you

1 Comment

  1. Exequiel

    29th February 2016 at 6:47 pm

    I’m Argentinian and I totally agree with this ban. He is a Pro now, he should meassure his actions.
    For example, if he’d got a yellow card in that moment leaving us with 12 men on the field I’m pretty sure we’d lost the match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *