Super Rugby | Super 15 Rugby and Rugby Championship News,Results and Fixtures from Super XV Rugby

Blues forward Kiri Kiri cited for foul play

HAMILTON, NEW ZEALAND - MARCH 10: Referee Brendon Pickerill shows a yellow card to Michael Leitch of the Chiefs during the round three Super Rugby match between the Chiefs and the Hurricanes at FMG Stadium Waikato on March 10, 2017 in Hamilton, New Zealand. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

Blues Super Rugby loose forward Antonio Kiri Kiri has been cited by Sanzaar for alleged foul play during a Super Rugby match against the Highlanders at the weekend.

As per Sanzaar policy for the matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

- Latest Super Rugby betting odds
- Full Super Rugby fixtures
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Kiri Kiri is alleged to have contravened Law 9.12 – Physically abusing a player by striking them with his head, during the match between the Highlanders and Blues at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on 23 February 2018.

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place at 9am(SAST), 6pm(AEDT), 8pm(NZDT) on Sunday 25 February, via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

Player: Antonio Kiri Kiri
Team: Blues
Position: Loose Forward
Date of Incident: 23 February 2018
Nature of Offence: Law 9.12 – Physically abusing a player by striking them with his head.
Elapsed time in match when incident occurred: 67:05